Day 49: Cambridge to Riggins; Rollin' to Riggins - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2015

Day 49: Cambridge to Riggins; Rollin' to Riggins

Cambridge to Riggins, ID
Heart 0 Comment 0

Notes:

1.) If you select the “Comment” link near the bottom of the page you can leave a message for me. I enjoy getting them.

2.) Climbing Today: 2,881 ft -- Total So Far; 117,959 ft

3.) Average Speed While Biking Today: 11.2 mph

4.) Mechanical Issues Today: none

5.) Miles Remaining to Canon City: about 1,302

6.) Miles Traveled to Date on This Half of the Journey: 698

7.) Money Found Today: $0.11 (1 penny and 1 dime)

8.) Total Money Found: $0.21 (Will I find enough to buy a cup of coffee?)

The plan today is to go long with a bit of a Gonzo day (anything over 80 miles is a Gonzo day), thereby setting me up for a short day tomorrow so I can be rested and ready for climbing White Bird Hill. But first things first, I have to ride today's route now. So I'm out before 5:00 am this morn. Truck traffic is an issue for cyclists traveling along 95, and I want to get ahead of the game with an early start.

It's cold in the early morn, but I like that cause the sun is coming and it will be cooking later. It seems that Mesa Orchards was once a big deal in these parts;

Mesa Orchards Was Once a Big Deal
Heart 0 Comment 0

And here's the bottomless pit of junk for sale;

Bottomless Pit of "Interesting Stuff"
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sunrise is hazy as usual.

Smoke Made For a Hazy Sunrise
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's the obligatory shot of a deer in the morning;

Your Morning Deer Photo (ho hum)
Heart 0 Comment 0

There's a good climb after Council, and it involves narrow roads with little to no shoulder.

Narrow Curvy Road With No Shoulders; No Problem
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was hard work getting up the hill, but there was a cooling wind that helped. Here's a nice little homestead spotted along the way.

A Nice Homestead Below
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm now working my way up alongside the Weiser River.

Traveling Alongside the Weiser River
Heart 0 Comment 0

Gee whiz, I guess I will have to turn out cause I'm the slowest vehicle going up this hill.

Gee Whiz, I Guess I Have to Turn Out
Heart 0 Comment 0

At Tamarack I was told that the road to Riggins was closed due to the fire. I had called the 511 number prior to leaving Cambridge and no closures were noted, but things can change. I pushed on anyway, cause what else was I going to do? I spotted a fire camp, just one of many scattered around the state.

One of Many Fire Camps I Encountered
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were three guards at the gate to keep out the public. I rolled on up and chatted them up a bit and found out there were no road closures on my route ahead; but of course, they said things could change at any minute. So I rolled on. It's disconcerting to come upon signs like this;

Evacuation Status
Heart 0 Comment 0
Evacuation Status; These Warning Signs Made Me Apprehensive
Heart 0 Comment 0

I don't know where these evacuation areas are; I'm not exactly from around here (but note for later that I did travel past Smokey Boulder Road). My evacuation speed on a bicycle would not be so great. I'm not worried so much for my safety (breathing the smoke has probably impaired my judgement), but more so for the inconvenience and possibility that a fire crew might decide it was necessary to toss my bike in the back of a pickup and haul me off to safety. Rolling on, the smoke thickened up a bit.

The Smoke Thickened
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a great second breakfast in New Meadows, and an incredible downhill run along the Little Salmon River. I glided silently and swiftly through the town of Pollock with none of the residents even aware that I was passing by. This is a helicopter landing zone set up for the firefighters;

A Helicopter Landing Zone
Heart 0 Comment 0

The smoke is thick enough that you can barely see the landing zone area. And the mountains are hard to see through the ever-present smoky haze.

The Mountains Were Hard to See Through the Smoke Haze
Heart 0 Comment 0

And it's always a bit disconcerting to see signs such as this;

Fire Activity Ahead? Will I Be Able to Get Through?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Exactly what fire activity are they talking about? It seems that everything is burning up here, even the rocks.

Wow - Even the Boulders are Smoking!
Heart 0 Comment 0

This must be the "Smoky Boulders" area that the earlier fire evacuation signs were referencing, so it appears that I'm dancing on the edge of the evacuation zone. I've never been much of a dancer, so it's time to mosey on.

I'm moseying along beside the Little Salmon River. The Little Salmon is another gorgeous Idaho mountain stream. Here's the proof;

The Little Salmon River, Just One of Many Such Beautiful Idaho Streams
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Little Salmon River
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Little Salmon River Tumbles Downstream
Heart 0 Comment 0

Small waterfalls appear on the side of the road if one can take the time to look for them. It's easy to see them traveling at bicycle speed.

Numerous Waterfalls Border the Roadside
Heart 0 Comment 0

This sign has aroused my curiosity;

Does This Mean "Don't Shoot No Dogs" or "No Shooting, and No Dogs?"
Heart 0 Comment 0

Does it mean "Don't shoot no dog" or does it mean "No shooting here, and by the way, no dogs allowed either." Arriving at the Salmon River Motel, I took advantage of the onsite laundry then walked to the café next door for supper and, as usual, turned in early. Here's my home for the night;

The Salmon River Motel Was a Nice Place
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's a very nice clean little place. The WIFI wasn't strong enough to work for me, but that's the story in most of these small motels. Good night folks...

Today's ride: 82 miles (132 km)
Total: 2,995 miles (4,820 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0