Day 40: Willamina to Harrisburg; The Willamette Valley - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2015

Day 40: Willamina to Harrisburg; The Willamette Valley

Willamina to Harrisburg
Heart 0 Comment 0

Notes:

1.) You can leave a message for me by clicking on the comment icon towards the bottom of the page (you must be registered with the site, but it's quick and easy to do so). I enjoy getting messages from readers.

2.) Climbing Today; 1,563 ft -- Total So Far; 92,623 ft

3.) Average Speed While Biking Today: 10.6 mph

4.) Maximum Speed While Biking Today: 36 mph

5.) Found Money Today: $.06, each penny found at different locations

6.) Mechanical Issues Today: none

7.) Miles Traveled to Date on This Half of the Journey: 142

8.) Miles Remaining to Canon City: Approximately 1858

It was chilly this morning, but it felt good as I knew things would heat up later. Up at 4:30, I was rolling at 5:55. I have felt sluggish and out-of-sorts the last couple of days as I become adjusted to the climate and time change and get back into the routine of touring. Today was hard at first, but I think I am getting back to normal as the afternoon felt better. On the other hand; as I stood up just now to get a peach, my left leg went into a hard cramp, so I'm definitely not back into cycle touring shape yet. Back to the story though; as I left Willamina this morning I got a better look at the massive log pile.

Another View of This Massive Pile of Logs
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm back on the Adventure Cycling Association Transam route again, and have been so since late on yesterday's ride when I rejoined the route shortly before diverting to Willamina. From Tillamook on to almost reaching Willamina I was not on their route and was just traveling on my own route to intersect the Transam. Not that it matters to most of you, but now you know. I followed their route for almost all of the first half of my journey, and will follow it for almost all of the second half of my journey as well. Several log trucks passed me today, and there is bark on the shoulder that must have blown off the trucks. I'm glad I got rolling early so I didn't have to deal with many of these trucks. I was out before the sun, but here it comes;

The Sun is Trying to Peak Over the Horizon
Heart 0 Comment 0
It Seems as Though Sunrise Occurs Here Every Day
Heart 0 Comment 0

Highway 22 got busy as the morning moved along, but the road had good shoulders.

Highway 22 is Busy but Has a Good Shoulder for Cycling
Heart 0 Comment 0

The weirdest thing happened today; as I was on 22 approaching the junction with 99W, a hawk fell out of the air and landed dead on the road right adjacent to me with its feet sticking straight up! It was a beautiful bird, well preserved, and I turned around on the shoulder and cycled back a bit to take a picture of it. But before I got there, a phat pholk driving an SUV and talking on a cell phone ran over it. Gee whiz, it would have been easy to avoid hitting it; if the driver was even paying attention. After it was squashed, it was no longer a pretty picture. Oregon has become known for wine, and this part of the state is no exception.

The Willamette Valley Has a Lot of Wineries
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I got on 99W, my path headed south for the rest of the day and I was cycling into a headwind. It wasn't too bad, but it did pick up in the afternoon. For my Geotechnical friends, here's an old rig that's been put out to pasture;

For My Geotechnical Friends; Here's an Old One
Heart 0 Comment 0

I used to make my living working behind small drilling rigs similar to that. I suppose they will put me out to pasture soon enough. I was on highway 99W now and there was ongoing construction, but fortunately a cycle sidepath existed for part of the way;

Highway 99W from Rickreall to Monmouth Has a Sidepath
Heart 0 Comment 0

I think this is a plum bush - can anyone verify that?

I Think This is Some Sort of Plum
Heart 0 Comment 0
Plum Bushes Were Abundant on the Sidepath as I Approached Monmouth
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Bush (plum?) Has Both Purple and White Blossoms
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Bush (plum?) Has Both Purple and White Blossoms
Heart 0 Comment 0

J's Café in Monmouth is a popular breakfast spot, and I had a great 2nd breakfast there. They've been around a while.

I Was But a Wee Toddler When J's Café was "Born"
Heart 0 Comment 0

My route today seems to be about 1/2 busy highway and 1/2 rural roads.

Today's Route Varied From Busy Highways (with good shoulders) to Low-Traffic Rural Roads
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made a conscious effort to drink more today. I'm cycling in a dry climate now, and while it hasn't been really hot yet I think I got a bit dehydrated yesterday because I didn't notice that I needed fluid until it was getting past the time I needed it. So I had depleted most of the main tanks, and as I slowed to cross a busy highway to reach a store and restock, some local cyclists caught up to me. One of them is a Warm Showers host in Sisters, OR and invited me to stay at his place when I pass through. So that was nice! I wasn't planning on stopping at Sisters unless I was too exhausted after climbing McKenzie Pass, so that may not work out. But it helped to know I had options, and that the local cyclists were "looking out for me." Rolling on, it seemed that someone wanted to sell their stuff.

So, What Are You Selling? You know, just "Stuff"
Heart 0 Comment 0

My route went through Corvallis, and took me through residential areas and avoided the busier streets. Even the residential streets have bike lanes.

Corvallis Bike Lanes are Very Close to Where Cars Park in the Residential Neighborhoods. Cyclists Must Use Caution to Not be "Doored" by an Inattentive Driver
Heart 0 Comment 0

This old barn would probably look much more picturesque in better lighting;

A Picturesque Barn (More so in the golden hours of dusk and dawn I'm sure)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I traveled along the Willamette Valley. It's pretty much flat, even though I was actually heading upstream. So here's the river;

The Willamette River
Heart 0 Comment 0

(side note; just got a big cramp in my right leg this time; seems like my legs are telling me something) This area seems to be almost 100% farmed. Through the distant haze I can see mountains; this must be the beginning of the Cascades?

The Willamette Valley is an Agricultural Area. Are Those the Beginnings of the Cascades I See to the East?
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I rolled into Peoria, I thought this must be the world's shortest Main Street.

This is a Very Short Main Street in Peoria
Heart 0 Comment 0

Perhaps Main Street exists elsewhere in town as well. I had been pushing on quite steadily for hours and was getting a bit empty. This fruit stand was a welcome stop, and a delicious plum gave me the power to finish up the short distance to my night's destination.

The Fruit Stand Made for a Convenient Stop and Some Delicious Plums and Peaches
Heart 0 Comment 0

This strange looking place is my home for the night. I thought it was the River Bend resort, but it recently underwent a name change to the River Life Resort and is undergoing a lot of renovation. I think it's going to eventually become some sort of church resort, but for the moment it's just a nice motel room for me.

The River Bend Resort is Being Re-Made Into the River Life Resort
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was no restaurant at the resort, and the lady at the desk didn't speak too fondly of the sole store in the town a mile away, but I had to get some food. So I offloaded Harvey's panniers into my lodge room and cycled into town. The one general store had very poor pickings to say the least, but I managed to get out with a hearty can of soup, bread, Gatorade, and a 1-cup serving of Cheerios and milk for tomorrow morning. I have food, so all is well with me now. Returning to the lodge, here's the view out my rear window showing the forest planted in neat rows;

Ordered Rows of Trees Seen From My Lodge Room
Heart 0 Comment 0

I have food, I got a hot shower, I'm inside for the night, and now I need to plan ahead a bit. All is well with me, I wish the same for you, Good night folks...

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 2,439 miles (3,925 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0