Day 29: Chanute, KS to Eureka, KS; Kansas Has It's Own Challenges - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

June 3, 2015

Day 29: Chanute, KS to Eureka, KS; Kansas Has It's Own Challenges

Chanute, KS (Guest House Motel) to Eureka, KS (Blue Stem Lodge)
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Note to readers regarding the elevation profiles; the profile is calculated from Point "A" on the map to Point "B" on the map. Since I am traveling east to west on the first half of this transcontinental journey, my route of travel is usually shown on the map as being from right to left. However, the elevation profile is shown from left to right, so it must be "reversed" in your head to understand it.)

Climbing Today; 1,250 ft -- Total So Far; 79,244 ft

I enjoyed a leisurely morning. Due to my gonzo day yesterday, Daniel and James were both behind me, and leaving late would let them make up some of the difference. Anita and I had a nice breakfast at the Grain Bin restaurant in Chanute, and I got ready to roll.

Me and Harvey Ready to Roll
Heart 0 Comment 0

Harvey approves of the wife, and here's a shot of the 3 of us;

The Mrs. Visits; Harvey Approves
Heart 0 Comment 0

The plan Anita helped me develop last night was to split the distance to the Newton Bike Shop hostel by cycling first to Eureka, which is approximately 1/2 way. So with the next 2 days planned out, off I rolled. Kansans also use stones for fence markers as shown below;

Stones are Used to Mark Boundaries, Fence Corners, and Gates
Heart 0 Comment 0

One quickly learns that there is precious little shade in rural Kansas. The sun can add a significant load factor to a touring cyclist. My 9:30 am start this morn was looking to be a bit unwise as the day heated up.

Shade is a Real Luxury
Heart 0 Comment 0

Speaking of unwise, I wonder how this happened?

OOPS! The Train is Supposed to be on the Track
Heart 0 Comment 0

Some small towns in Kansas often really aren't towns at all as they contain no stores or services of any sort.

Small Town Kansas Really is the Middle of Nowhere
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's today's obligatory old barn photo;

Old Barn
Heart 0 Comment 0

And in a cruel joke, Kansas does have a few (very few) hills hidden away, and my route went over this one. It's a legitimately steep hill, as the "before" and "after" photos below show;

There are a Few Hills in Kansas; The Approach View
Heart 0 Comment 0
And the Rearward View After Cresting the Hill
Heart 0 Comment 0

My route went right past Toronto Lake, a Corps of Engineers project. I doubt that the Corps knows that thousands of transcontinental cyclists have cycled past their doorstep.

The TRANSAM Route Runs Right Past Toronto Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0

And in the midst of nowhere I came upon the "Cowboy Church and the Arena of Life." All righty then.

Cowboy Church and the Arena of Life. All Righty Then...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Despite having had a very filling breakfast, my hunger was ravenous when I reached the Lizard Lips restaurant.

Lizard Lips Café was a Very Welcome Site
Heart 0 Comment 0
I Don't Know if Lizard Lips are Served, I had the Fajita Lunch Special
Heart 0 Comment 0

I scarfed down the daily special at Lizard Lips and Daniel caught up as I was finishing. I waited for him to finish and then we both moved on. The massive storms that have devastated both Texas and Oklahoma in May also reached into Kansas, though they had died down somewhat by then. But Kansas obviously got some rain;

Kansas was Inundated With the Remnants of the Rains That Flooded Texas and Oklahoma
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was a buffeting side wind now, and the afternoon heat was intensifying. The perfect time to have a flat I suppose.

Oh No, Another Flat! No Shade to Hide Beneath, Kansas can be Brutal
Heart 0 Comment 0

I dispensed with the flat quickly and rolled on. When I reached Newton I planned to have the Newton Bike Shop address a few issues with the bike, including the recurring flats on the rear wheel. It seems that Kansas likes to brag about having some hills.

Kansas Brags About Having a Few Hills
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was considering camping in Eureka, but now I needed to patch the flat tube and a motel offers a better place to do that, so I secured lodging at the Blue Stem motel. I walked to a nearby Pizza Hut for supper, and a weather warning came across the TV.

Hen Egg Size Hail? Must be a Kansas Thing
Heart 0 Comment 0

I've never heard of hail being described as being "Hen Egg Size." I usually hear it being described for size using terms like these; nickel, quarter, marble, golf ball, baseball, or even softball. So I suppose that most Kansans would understand the term "hen egg" used to describe hail. Walking back to the hotel I was feeling good about securing a room for only $45 until I climbed into bed; the mattress was deformed badly and I nearly fell to the floor. Once I quit laughing I managed to sleep far to one side to keep from rolling off. Oh well, it worked, and hey; what do you expect for $45?

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 1,733 miles (2,789 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0