Day 2: Mechanisville to Mineral (VA); I'm Not Alone! - Transam, Both Ends to the Middle; Buddy Rides a Bike - CycleBlaze

May 7, 2015

Day 2: Mechanisville to Mineral (VA); I'm Not Alone!

Mechanicsville, VA (Holiday Inn Express) to Mineral, VA (camping behind fire dept.)
Heart 0 Comment 0

(Note to readers regarding the elevation profiles; the profile is calculated from Point "A" on the map to Point "B" on the map. Since I am traveling east to west on the first half of this transcontinental journey, my route of travel is usually shown on the map as being from right to left. However, the elevation profile is shown from left to right, so it must be "reversed" in your head to understand it.)

Climbing Today; 1,773 ft -- Total So Far; 3,257 ft

After enjoying the hotel breakfast, it was 7:45 before I finally rolled out. I needed to be on a conference call at 9:30, and I planned to arrive "somewhere" with enough time to set up for the call. The ride was pleasant once I got out of Mechanicsville; unfortunately, I did get lost leaving town and wasted a bit of effort getting back on track. I'm following maps published by the Adventure Cycling Association (ACA). They are absolutely necessary for a cross-country trip like mine, but it can be easy to miss a turn when they are close together; and so I did. FWIW, I'm a member of the ACA and think they offer a great service for traveling cyclists. Their maps include detailed info on lodging and food locations, the sort of things that cyclists need. It would be foolish to try a journey of this magnitude without the ACA maps. But they aren't perfect; oftentimes their distances would disagree with my odometer, sometimes being too short and sometimes being too long. There are occasional typos and logic errors in the maps, but one can usually "figure out what they really mean."

Due to my time delay with getting lost and found, I hadn't quite gotten out of Mechanicsville when it was time for the call. Stopping at a MacDonald's, I called on my cell phone and used my tablet computer to go online to a site we use for viewing other's files (a "webinar" site). When the call ended, I packed it all up and headed for Ashland, where I planned to arrive in time for my next conference call of the day. I have one regular call on Mondays, two on Thursdays, and other impromptu calls that are necessary to keep up with ongoing work. The benefit and bane of technology lies in being able to connect from anywhere; in my case, it's a real blessing to be able to undertake my little adventure and keep up with projects.

In Ashland, I spotted a coffee shop that looked like a good place to set up. On the way there I meet Daniel Wolf, a young man who is also headed west on the Transam. Daniel told me that the coffee shop has excellent food, and after quick pleasantries I hurried in and connected to my next call; but not before I ordered a piece of coconut lemon pie. After that call I bought some canned spaghetti and meatballs and canned peaches that I plan to eat at the camp tonight. Finally I was off in earnest, and after a couple of miles I pulled over for a map check and water stop. Most of my stops are made without dismounting the bike; I simply straddle it and stretch a bit, maybe eat a bite of cracker or trail mix for energy, and drink some fluid. I keep my camera and snacks and other needed items in the handlebar bag for quick access during such stops. I panicked for a moment when I realized that I had not packed the food I just bought in Ashland into my panniers; oh well, there should be another store somewhere along the route, I'm not about to go back as I have wasted a lot of precious morning time already and the day is heating up. Looking back I started laughing; the food I bought was still in the sack riding on top of my panniers where I had set it. Wow, my bike must ride smooth. This time I dismounted and packed the food away.

The ride on to Mineral was generally pleasant, but the heat load was intense for this early in the year. I passed an interesting old building and wondered about its history; who lived here, raised a family here, are people still alive who have memories of this place?

Interesting Old Ruins
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm starting to see the beauty of Virginia now. I had no idea how many streams exist here; there are beautiful clear mountain brooks everywhere, and this will be the case for many days to come. It almost becomes ho-hum to be riding alongside yet another one of these beautiful mountain streams.

One of a Thousand Beautiful Brooks
Heart 0 Comment 0

The midday heat was becoming a bit intense, and the overhead sun offered little shade. I pulled off the road next to a large tree at the edge of a little private cemetery and sat down for a snack and water break.

Break Time; Any Big Shade Tree Will Do
Heart 0 Comment 0

After resting a bit, I stood up to leave and looked over the cemetery fence; imagine my surprise when I discovered this was a private cemetery for the Hall family! Hall is a common name, and yet I wondered if it were possible that I could be related to some of these folks.

A Cemetery for Halls; Wonder if We Are Related?
Heart 0 Comment 0

The remainder of the ride was hard but uneventful; heat and hills will be the story for some time to come, and today was my first taste of the Appalachians. I pulled into Mineral and set up camp behind the fire station. There were other cyclists already there; Andy, the cyclist I met in the airport 2 days earlier, and Daniel, the cyclist I had just met this morning. I met Dana and Mckayla, a father-daughter duo who are cycling on a tandem. Two other young men arrived later that I didn't meet until 2 days later at the Cookie Lady's house; more on that later. To our delight, there was a Mexican restaurant within a short walk, and Daniel and Andy and I enjoyed a meal together, with Dana and Mckayla at the adjoining booth. My wife was worried about me being alone on this journey. Well, I am alone, but I'm not really alone. There are other crazy folks on bikes as well...

Other Cyclists - I'm Not Alone!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The folks at the Mineral VFD give us access to water via an outside hydrant and access to bathrooms. But there were no showers for us, so a sponging off at the hydrant had to do. I was very tired, but grateful for a successful start and for meeting other cyclists that are undertaking this adventure. I planned for an easy 50-miler tomorrow. What could possibly go wrong?

My Campsite Behind the Fire Station at Mineral
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 150 miles (241 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0