Day 1 of cycling in the Champagne region - Bubbles, White and Red - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2022

Day 1 of cycling in the Champagne region

The gang at the picnic lunch
Heart 1 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonWhoo hoo, Canadians on the road.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Me on the road
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today was our first day of cycling.  We did a 54km loop NE of Reims into part of the Champagne region but there is more to come.  There were lots of rolling hills totalling about 1600’ of climbing that would normally not be a big deal except for the bike that I am riding, it is a real pig.  It weighs almost as much as my heavy duty e-bike without the motor.  I will stick with this bike for this tour and the Loire but I will either get an e-bike or road bike for Bordeaux.   Unfortunately John’s bike was not performing well, it was slipping gears on the hills so he had to walk on the steep ones.  He is getting a new bike tomorrow that hopefully works better.  All this just reminds me why I prefer to bring my own bike.  All was not bad we stopped at a vineyard for photos and had a lovely picnic lunch and ride, despite the difficulties. 

Once back in Reims John, Tim and I went looking for a champagne house that was open on Monday.  We found the G.H. Martel house that was open and we had a private tasting of some lovely champagnes and learned a few things about champagne that I did not know.   We went home with 3 bottles of a champagne made uniquely at a château owned by the winery.  The chateau is located in the very south of the champagne region and the champagne uses only grapes grown on that property.

 Off to Eparney tomorrow, here’s hoping the rain holds off.

'

John and Beth among the grapes
Heart 3 Comment 0
John and me in the grapes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those wearing the Canadian jerseys today
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the road again
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the picnic lunch, caught them with their mouths full.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My pig of bike under the champagne region sign
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying our tasting
Heart 1 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonCurious - how does it taste any different/better than the sparkling wine from other areas?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Our route which was the big loop
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Champagne house to which we went
Heart 0 Comment 0
What we bought, John bought one for me for my birthday. It may or may not make it home.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 54 km (34 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0