Rainy day interlude - In Brittany it only rains on the idiots. - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2018

Rainy day interlude

I was out of bed by nine o'clock and on the road in less than an hour. But before I had gone far I came upon a laundromat so I spent the next hour washing clothes and chatting with the other customers. That done I set off for Guingamp. The rain that was forcast began to fall, ever so lightly, in the form of very heavy mist. Out came the rain cape and I resumed my role as rolling tent. Coming into Pommerit-Jaudy, I tried for a back road and this time I found it. The angelus was sounding as I got to the far side of the village, and spotting a crêperie down the street, I went in for lunch.   Galette again. I mean really, don't the Bretons eat sandwiches? 

Emerging from lunch, I noticed that the main road was largely free of traffic and that the rain had stopped for a moment. So I decided to use the highway as a direct route to Guingamp and save myself some kilometers. Of course I had to re-don the cape a while later, but it was mostly smooth sailing on the tarmac until I got to Guingamp. At the railway station there was a small flock of half-drowned cyclists waiting for the train and I joined them. In the train we were so numerous as to block the aisle, at least until we got to St. Brieuc, where I got off. I found a hotel across the street from the station and booked myself in. I stayed in my room editing the journal and waited for the rain to stop.

A converted army barracks for the night.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The rain stopped before suppertime, and the sun came out. I went looking for food and walked down to the port, a declivity of eighty meters. I was somewhat saddened by the state of the city. There are a lot of abandoned store fronts and for sale signs. There has been some urban renewal, but on the whole St. Brieuc looks like a city in decline. Reaching the port, I was confirmed in this opinion. The upper reaches of the harbor were full of uncared for boats of all descriptions except "clean".

Where old boats go to die.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Of course, it's not all bad in St. Brieuc. The lower harbor is full of well kept yachts, and there is a trendy bar and restaurant on the quay. I searched in vain for the sailor's bar. Probably lost its custom when the upper harbor went down. Being dinner time, I went into the quay side restaurant and ordered a steak, which came with courgettes in mild red pepper sauce, and fries. 

On the walk back to the hotel I took the steepest road up the hill. I'm very glad not to have done it on my bike, it is a killer at over 15 per cent. On the way back I passed some buildings from St. Brieuc's glory years. 

An Art Deco masterpiece.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pottery finials from the belle epoch.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 781 km (485 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0