Last big day. - In Brittany it only rains on the idiots. - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2018

Last big day.

I'm running out of time and also the meds that I have to take every day. That means that I have to start the long journey home soon, so to day is the last day I have to really ride. Following days will be mostly spent on the train as I cross the width of France once again.

I snoozed a bit after waking this morning and didn't really get going until nine or so. The most direct route to the coast was one of those busier roads that Mr. Michelin colors in yellow on his maps. Actually it wasn't all that bad, at least for the first couple of hours as weekend traffic doesn't pick up until at least ten, and often not until later. I reached Moncontour where I wanted to stop to see the sixteenth century church and especially its windows. 

The windows are in remarkable condition, and really vibrant.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Moncontour is a pretty village with some of its ramparts still standing. I stopped to have a coffee and then rode around to admire the fortifications.

Ramparts.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was still on the main road when I left but by now the traffic was getting heavier. I did find one stretch where there was a parallel road that allowed me about five kilometers of relative peace.

Hey Vincent, I found the wagon!
Heart 2 Comment 0

But at last I was directed back onto the main road until I got to Lamballe. At Lamballe I had two routes to the coast. Departmental route 13, very busy, or departmental 14, not so much. It was a no-brainer  to take the latter. At La Bouillie I found a restaurant open and they served me a very plain meal of terrine followed by veal and noodles. Nothing fancy just country food. I was the only diner on this Saturday and they couple that runs the place turned the television to face me as they too ate their noon time meal. Nice of them to do so, but not really necessary.

The countryside is considerably flatter in this part of Brittany.
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I got to the town of Matignon traffic picked up again to the point of having a traffic jam where three main roads cross in the center of the village. But luck was with me and there was a bike path from Matignon to St. Cast-le-Guildo, which I took to the coast. Stopping at the tourist office I found out that there were no rooms available or even tent spaces in the local campgrounds, so I backtracked to Matignon and got the last but one space in the campground there. I have no idea what the fuss was about, but it sure was a popular destination for the weekend. After showering, I went to see a little bit of the town. 

There is a pretty, small market hall in the center.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Inside the village hall was a display of maritime uniforms and models recounting the history of the French navy. I found a model that was particularly interesting to me because it was of a ship on which a former colleague of mine had served. Bill Downing was an ensign in the US Navy during the second world war and he was assigned as liason officer on the Free French cruiser Georges Leygues.  Bill was given the task of relaying the order to open fire on D-Day to the crew of the ship, which, to honor the French participation in the war, was the first to do so. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

After looking around, I went for pizza and called it an early night.

Today's ride: 83 km (52 miles)
Total: 944 km (586 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesI hate it when people send a premature message saying "Nice ride, thanks for the blog" before the blog is really done. But maybe this is a good time: Nice ride, thanks for the blog! Still, I hope you will add some concluding thoughts or an account of the train ride.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Keith KleinTo Steve Miller/GrampiesHi Steve,
I will be adding some final thoughts. And an account of the train ride. But that will be tomorrow. And thanks for following. I really must stop beginning sentences with conjunctions........

Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
5 years ago