Still recovering - A French Meander: seeking Bordeaux - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2018

Still recovering

Taking it slow, even when it's a necessity, has its advantages. I discovered that even though there is a strike on there are still a few trains running. In fact there was a train going from Bordeaux to Agen this morning that I could take my bike on. I didn't want to go too far, though, so I got off at Langon. It was just before lunch. I followed the bike trail that is right in front of the station to St.Macaire where I had booked myself into a hotel restaurant. The town is an ancient medieval river port and seems to have retained much of its charm.

The main gate in St. Macaire
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ate lunch at the hotel, which was 15€ for the whole deal including:

A huge buffet for the entrée
Heart 0 Comment 0

A mountain hamburger for the main course, which you eat with a knife and fork in the French style, and fromage frais for dessert.

Dessert.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch, I checked into my room and unloaded the bike. I decided I needed to test my legs to see if I was ready to resume touring at a reasonable pace and leave the "train touring " behind. I decided to go to St.Croix du Mont, which has the reputation of being a nice village to see and has some good cycling. The distance wasn't long, and there would be some climbing to get there, so it should be a good test of my legs.

The first test came almost immediately after I left St.Macaire. I had a short climb to Verdelais but it wasn't all that hard. I find the name of the village kind of funny since " verre du lait" means "glass of milk" in English and this is in the middle of wine country. Anyway, I felt good enough to continue. My spirits were buoyed by a young woman on a racing bike giving me the cyclist's wave as she sped by going the other way. Remember that you young ones. A simple wave hello might help to make an old fart's day. From Verdelais the road descended once more to St.Croix du Mont, but, and it's a big "but", to reach the center of the town there is a very steep climb of about two kilometers. I shifted into my lowest gear and started up. Even at my very slow pace I was struggling a bit. I stopped about halfway to catch my breath before finishing the climb. Clearly, I'm not ready for the Alps yet. 

The views from the top were great. I rode to the castle that has become the village hall. The village clerk was there and she was happy to give a brief history of the castle. Not that it's remarkable, but very few villages the size of St.Croix du Mont have anything so grand for a town 

The courtyard of the mairie in St.Croix du Mont
Heart 0 Comment 0
View across the valley of the Gironde from St.Croix du Mont
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was all downhill on the ride back to St.Macaire. I felt tired, but OK, so maybe I can continue on this tour. After showering, I walked around town looking at the marvelous medieval buildings. 

There were well preserved arcaded structures facing the old marketplace
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gargoyles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leaded glass windows
Heart 0 Comment 0
And renaissance stone work
Heart 0 Comment 0
The church is a mixture of romanesque on the right and gothic on the left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Magnificent frescoes on the ceiling behind the altar.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinner was somewhat problematic. I wasn't very hungry, and there was only one restaurant in the entire town that was open on a Tuesday night. I settled for a skewer of barbecued duck and fromage frais for dessert.

Today's ride: 24 km (15 miles)
Total: 454 km (282 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0