In Bordeaux and nearby. - A French Meander: seeking Bordeaux - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2018

In Bordeaux and nearby.

Twelve hours of sleep and about a gallon of orange juice can do wonders for one's state of mind. I still felt a little wobbly, but most definitely in better shape than yesterday. I had to make a decision about this tour I'm on. Do I quit now and go home to recuperate, of do I stay the course albeit at a slower pace? In part, the good folks at the SNCF made my decision for me. Because I travel with a bicycle, I must take local, i.e. slow trains. So it will take at least two days for me to get from Bordeaux to Dijon, and the railways will be on a two day strike starting tomorrow. I could go up the line, but it's rather pleasant here so I think I'll say here in Bordeaux at least one more day, then see if I can do some local peddling and see some of the sights. Sue is going to be in Paris with her niece, and that leaves only the cat at home to talk to anyway. He's a very friendly cat, but not much of a conversationalist. I don't have to be there to feed him as there is an automatic dispenser in the kitchen that keeps him on adequate but limited rations, as well as a water fountain he can use. I'll see how it goes and if I really feel like I can't ride anymore, I'll just hole up somewhere and wait for the strike to be over.

But first, now that I'm here, what to do? Catch-up on the journal, read, look about, what? One suggestion was to take the train (still running today) to St. Emilion, a beautiful medieval town not far away. I thought I could just about handle my bike unloaded, so I got on the 10:15 for St.Emilion.

Vines and ruins, the glories of St.Emilion.
Heart 1 Comment 0

From the railway station to the center of town it's a bit of a climb, but I didn't have any problems with it. I took a lot of photos of the town and I'll show you a few.

The views from the old city are stunning.
Heart 1 Comment 0
City hall isn't bad, either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Everywhere you look the past is evident.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No tour of St.Emilion would be complete without at least one wine chateau. Looks old, but I'm sure it has modern plumbing and central heating!
Heart 2 Comment 0

After my little spin around St.Emilion, I caught the return train to Bordeaux and went back to the hotel for a nap. Later in the afternoon I got a tram pass and did a little sightseeing.

The very elegant Place de la Bourse
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Hermione, a replica of the ship sailed by Layfayette on his way to join the American rebels was docked on the Gironde.

Heart 0 Comment 0
For a fee you could go on board and learn about nautical things like making sail. I passed on the chance.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bordeaux is a fascinating city. Classic architecture and modern sculpture.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And of course, medieval towers, clocks, and walls.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After my look about, I found a restaurant for another light supper. No pictures of food (sorry Greg) this time. Frankly, I just wasn't motivated to eat much.

Today's ride: 9 km (6 miles)
Total: 430 km (267 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0