Montreal Bike Shop - Grampies Go By The Books Summer 2014 - CycleBlaze

April 27, 2014

Montreal Bike Shop

My big activity for today, my actual birthday, was the chance to refurbish the bike Josh had brought here to Montreal. It is a 1980's era Nishiki with non-indexed shifting and extension levers operating the brakes from dropped handlebars. With the wheels in my hands while replacing the tires and tubes, I judged the front wheel bearings to be OK, but the rear to need work. So I would need a cone wrench and bearing grease.

My Montreal bike shop.
Heart 0 Comment 0

To my surprise, the bike shop was open here in Quebec on a Sunday, and we scooted over, fifteen minutes before closing. Rather than find the place forelorn and deserted, it was humming with people, carrying off the lovely Canadian made DeVinci bicycles, and setting up their little kids in bike trailers.

La Cordee bike shop at closing time.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was not sure if I needed a 15, 16, 17, or 18 mm wrench and the young man listened with sympathy to my tale of working on a 1980's bike. He had no idea what size cones it might have. He allowed that they used to have a used bike for sale, but it was now gone and in any event dated to 2010. I went with 15 mm and turned out to be right. Only thing, to remove the axle it seems I will have to pull the freewheel. So tomorrow I will be back for a freewheel puller. People at home think it would have been cheaper to just bring the bike in for a tuneup. But how much birthday fun would that have been?

The final treat for today was a visit to Lafleur. Lafleur to me is an upstart hot dog and fries place, with the "original" being "La Belle Province". However the company established itself 60 years ago with the opening of the first mobile unit in 1951, then the first restaurant in 1961 at 475, Lafleur Avenue in Lasalle. This same Avenue became the name and trademark of the company. Strangely (to me) La Belle Province turns out to be younger, having been started in 1967. The key thing about either of these companies is the greasy, dark fries. Fries like this actually predate both companies for me, harkening to small independent wagons selling "patates frites" on rural Quebec roads, 50 and 60 years ago. No doubt they are still out there.

Dodie hates (hates!) fries like this. That is sacriledge. Next could be a critique of cheese danish. Sheesh!

Quebec fries
Heart 0 Comment 0

Three days to Paris. I hope we are not too fat to fit on our bikes when we get there!

Josh's bike half finished
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0