"A Known Idiot" - Grampies Go By The Books Summer 2014 - CycleBlaze

April 19, 2014

"A Known Idiot"

This is the technical term used by Laurie as she recounted the story below to our other children...

With the paper maps all done and safely in the map cases, we felt we could spare some time to pop down to Seattle for a last couple of days with the family.

But one of the chores still on the list was to spray fabric water repellent on my Patagonia jacket. We had picked up a fancy DRC spray at REI. I did it, in the laundry room, and hung the jacket to dry on the line in there.But, after two hours I found I could not breathe. Just the tiniest of little puffs was possible. Else it would be painful coughing. With little puffs, there is not enough air to move any muscles, but I was sort of ok if motionless. Dodie said hospital, now I of course was sure it would pass by morning. It didn't.

The victim
Heart 0 Comment 0

So now I am in Cowichan General.   Here staff are friendly and efficient, and they are covering all the angles (EKG x-ray, IV antibiotics, anti inflamatories, ventalin, oxygen saturation and heart and BP monitors, blood work, urinalysis - you name it, they've got it). Even though they are dragging out all this stuff I am fine, not critical or even close.

The culprit. The stuff is a fluoropolymer, of which there sre many types. The most famous is "Teflon"
o
Heart 0 Comment 0

Maybe we can still go to Seattle tomorrow. The doctor, though, wants to be very sure before turning me out on the street- it could be late morning before  I am sprung.To go, we will also have to phone the travel health insurance. They probably will take a dim view of people tottering out of hospital to cross the international border, where they will be responsible for sky high US health care if there is a relapse. They might charge an extra fee or they might deny coverage for anything to do with the lungs (and heart, and liver.. what else do I have in there?)

As of now I can take about 1/2 breath. So I need to bump that all the way back to 100% by the time we cycle out of Paris. How about the handy piece of tech around my neck - it gives oxygen saturation, graphic beats and beats per minute. You can set it to alarm if heart or lungs go off the deep end. Could be a good cycling accessory? Recommended use: Texas Hill Country or Austrian Alps.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0