Day 2: Green Springs to Klamath Falls - The Lost River to Bonanza 2020 - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2020

Day 2: Green Springs to Klamath Falls

The restaurant opens at 9 AM. I don't have breakfast supplies and there is no store until after today's 3 big climbs. I was the first customer in the door and ordered right away. Service was very fast and I was on the road at 9:30. Not bad.

The day starts with a pine forested 1100 foot descent heading east on OR 66. Partway down the descent I stopped at the Tub Springs Wayside, a small state park. It has a shady picnic area, small spring fed tubs, and interpretive signs about the Applegate Trail. Here the original 1846 trail route is 100 yards north of the highway. I couldn't recognize the original track on the forested hillside.

Applegate Trail interpretive sign at Tub Springs Wayside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Applegate Trail emigrants used tub springs for washing.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At the bottom of the descent is the historic Pinehurst Inn, a ranch house built in 1904. It was once an inn but is now a private residence. This remote valley once had a sawmill and was a stop on the stagecoach road.

Historic Pinehurst Inn, at the bottom of an 1100 foot descent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Pinehurst Inn I immediately started the day's first climb. 950 feet, continuous uphill with no extra rolling sections. Easy when the grade is only 5%. I pedaled to the top without stopping to rest.

Near the summit I enter Klamath county. Most of this tour is in Klamath county. I will return to Jackson county on the last day of the tour.

Most of the tour is in Klamath county.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Near Parker Mountain summit I saw a lot of giant Sugar Pine cones. I can't identify the tree but I sure recognize the cones which are 12-13 inches (30+ cm) long. I never saw them anywhere else during the tour.

This is the only area where I saw giant Sugar Pine cones.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Parker Mountain pass is the first of today's 3 passes. Not quite as high as yesterday's pass.

The summit has no panoramic view because of the tall pines. I wish I had the energy to pedal the 2 mile uphill gravel dead end road to the fire lookout. It surely has awesome views of Mt. Shasta to the south and Mt. McLoughlin to the north.

950 foot climb. Not quite as high as yesterday's summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I was in pines all the time until I descended to the Klamath river. Wide open views were scarce. The afternoon temperature was about 80F so it felt good to have some shade while climbing.

I was in tall pines for most of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hayden summit is today's highest pass. Only a 600 foot net climb from the bottom to the top but there are hundreds more feet of rolling hills as well. Once again I pedaled from the bottom to the top without taking a rest. The 4% grade made me feel like Superman.

Highest of today's 3 summits but only a 600 foot net climb.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After Hayden summit OR 66 stays along the ridges for a couple miles, then begins a rapid 800 foot switchback descent to the Klamath river. Quite impressive.

High meadow with many flowers and giant stumps.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On top of the world.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Switchback descending to the Klamath river.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the bottom of the descent I see the Klamath river up close for the first time. I had a couple distant glimpses from above during the descent.

First view of the Klamath river and the elusive Mt. McLoughlin. The river appears to be a reservoir.
Heart 1 Comment 0

From the Klamath river bridge I was pleased to finally have a view of Mt. McLoughlin. I expected to see it during my previous tour but clouds never cooperated. Clouds are less of a problem on the desert side!

Telephoto view of 9495 foot Mt. McLoughlin from the "real" camera, a Canon G7X with 1-inch sensor.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After crossing the Klamath river OR 66 climbs to the day's 3rd summit. A 500 foot net climb with several rolling hills to add to the actual climbing, but only 5% grade. The summit is 4303 feet elevation but there is no sign.

Then a trivial 200 foot descent to the small town of Keno, once again near the Klamath river.

Big Mormon church in the small town of Keno.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Keno is on the western edge of the Klamath valley very close to the Cascade range. I imagine it had several sawmills at one time. It's mostly a farm town now. All around are farms irrigated from the Klamath river. The flat valley has many irrigation canals.

Probably not very many Mormons here.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Keno looks like many small remote western farm towns.

Multi-tasking is necessary in small towns.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After Keno OR 66 stays in the Klamath river valley for another 15 miles to Klamath Falls. Super easy terrain but I pedaled north with a northwest headwind. Traffic was heavy after Keno. A paved shoulder appeared a few miles after Keno.

Klamath river again.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The high desert is a welcome change after pedaling most of the day through tall pines. Finally something different, with panoramic views.

High desert in the Klamath river valley.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Telephoto view from the real camera to capture the see-thru barn.
Heart 2 Comment 0

OR 66 ends when it connects to US 97 which is an expressway for a few miles through Klamath Falls. After crossing the expressway I turned onto Greensprings road, a quiet 2-lane road parallel to US 97. No doubt it's the original Green Springs highway before the expressway bypass was built. Greensprings road took me straight to Main street on the west end of downtown Klamath Falls, only 2 blocks from my hotel.

Looking across Lake Ewauna towards downtown Klamath Falls. Telephoto view from the real camera.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped briefly at Riverside park which is mostly along the shore of Lake Ewauna. It has a nice high desert view, with fountains. Besides being decorative, the fountains increase the oxygen level of the eutrophic water flowing in from Upper Klamath lake.

Lake Ewauna from Riverfront park in Klamath Falls.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight's home is the Cerulean Hotel in downtown Klamath Falls. I arrived at 5:55 PM which is okay considering the late start. The location is good, between downtown and the Link river and close to lake Ewauna. $219 for two nights. The room has A/C, TV, fridge, microwave, but no breakfast. Fortunately there is a restaurant on the premises. I turned on the A/C for a short time but it wasn't needed after dark. The temperature drops rapidly at 4100 feet with low humidity. The hotel appears to be only 10% occupied.

Cerulean Inn's pool and hot tub were open. Pools were closed by law during last month's tour.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Dinner was at Girasol Mexican restaurant 4 blocks away in the middle of downtown. It was open for dine-in and the food is better than the local Mexican food where I live.

Today was challenging because of the total climbing. But I'm not sore at all because the grades were so gentle. I like the Green Springs route.

Distance: 46.5 mi. (74.4 km)
Average Speed: 8.1 mph (13 km/h)
Ascent/Descent: +2845/-3158 ft. (+867/-963 m)

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 61 miles (98 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0