Yes, I’ve now witnessed people bobbing for beer - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Yes, I’ve now witnessed people bobbing for beer

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS

Twin Bridges, MT to Jackson, MT

Distance: 75.5 miles

Okay, so I know I slept extremely well when I drool from my mouth to the back of my neck. When I woke up, I couldn’t believe it myself. I sat there a minute, contemplated sleeping longer, but forced myself to wake up because I planned a 93 mile day to Wisdom, MT. Soon there after, I was packed, fueled by oatmeal and peanut butter, and on my way out at 5:30 AM. The roads were quiet, being it was a Saturday morning. I’ve learn many lessons about touring on this trip, one of which is how to mentally and physically handle a day where mileage is high. Mentally, I’ve learned to refrain from using the bike computer and just know that it won’t be over until you pull into town. This helps me not fret about how much I’ve done at any point throughout the day. Physically, I’ve learned to avoid pushing myself over hills or try to maintain specific mph targets so I don’t tire myself out. With that being said, the first 33 miles to Dillion were fantastic. I took a visit to the Safeway for some deals on Clif bars the brothers informed me about. I then posted up outside Dillion’s best reviewed coffeeshop until it opened. Just so happens there was a Patagonia Outlet next door (didn’t buy anything), but everything was prettyyyyy colllllloooorrss. I was let in early and ordered what was absolutely the best cup of joe I’ve had on the trip thus far, enough to have a second. I dunked mini chocolate donuts in to prepare for a couple 2,000+ feet climbs ahead of me. The music in the coffeeshop was fantastic, and I found myself singing out loud as the morning rush came and went.

I felt wonderful cycling through the two large climbs. Halfway between the two, I sat on the side of the road in blazing sun and made a delicious sandwich. I ate the sandwich with nothing but sun rays from above and bugs crawling under my feet. I’ll never forget that moment. Eventually after the looong climbs, I rolled into Jackson, a town of under 75 people. I rolled up to the town’s cafe and hotel, and noticed a beer garden. Confused, I inquired about the event, and found they will be holding a BBQ and brew tonight. The hotel owner and I worked out a deal where for 10 dollars, I could tent behind the building, and he would throw in a beer. Yup, I’ll be staying here tonight. I hung out as the party was starting to grow, and only a couple hours later the fun really began. Participants bobbing for free beers in a ice bucket, blue grass band making beautiful music, cowboys and cowgirls swing dancing, and everyone just having the best time. I must have looked like SUCH an outsider, but I’ve never felt more okay with that in my life. I had excellent conversations with some really lovely people, and all I could think was how happy I was to have been in this small town on this day on my bike. I pitched my tent and went back to the fire pit for some more hilarious conversations with drunk people. This was definitely an unexpected highlight of the trip; let’s just hope they settle down so I can get some shut eye.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0