Vote for Linda! - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Vote for Linda!

Heart 0 Comment 0

Another early rise

You would think after riding for hours you’d be able to easily fall asleep and/or sleep-in. Well for the second day in a row I tossed and turned, drifting into a deep sleep then being wide awake. I didn’t make it past 4:30 AM when I decided I’m up for good. Luckily, Brian was awake as well, and we agreed to breakdown our stealth campsite and prepare coffee and breakfast. Today was three oatmeal packages with peanut butter. Mmmmmm. It was noticeably chilly; my breath could be seen during the early meal. I layered up and still my fingertips and toes were numb instantly when we departed, but you just barrel through because of how happy you are to be on the bike.

What’s that welcome sign?

We originally thought the ride was 20 miles to the next convenience store. We rode through 10 miles of quiet, low traffic, and vastly beautiful Virginia land as the sun peaked through the trees. It was peaceful, and the setting made the miles fly by. Suddenly around the bend we noticed a welcome banner. Didn’t it end up being a little convenience store with hot coffee, Brian’s breakfast, restrooms and outlets (I always take advantage). Not only that, they had tables. These types of stores bode perfectly for our breakfast breaks. At this point, I was already hungry again, so a clif bar, coffee, and piece of chocolate (thanks Olivia) held me up for a bit.

Off to Mineral we go

We eventually made it to Mineral, where our lunch destination will be. Originally I had no plans on eating lunch here, because I would like to lesson my own load and eat food I’ve already purchased. This quickly changed when Brian starting consuming his meal in front of me. Something took over me, and I walked out of there eating Brian’s offerings of homefries and buttered rye bread, 3 eggs, 1 decent size pancake with sweet syrup, and two spoonfuls of peanut butter. All-in-all, you can’t beat $1.00 eggs and $1.60 hotcake(s). The energy from that meal was insane, and we probably averaged 13 to 15 mph for the next 15 miles or so.

Hills to Palmyra

Some of these roads to Palmyra were amazing to have rolled on. I kept picturing what life would be out in the country. They definitely have their share of hills, nothing too serious compared to what’s to come, but noticeably steep. Like I said, we have to prepare for Shenandoah somehow. I felt strong today, and I’m not sure if it was the mid afternoon meal or just loving life. Our destination before our host’s house was the library, where we had 2 hours before the rain started. Library’s have to be one of the best places to visit on the road for couches, friendly faces, wifi, bathrooms, and water fountains. Some of the most wonderful people I know work in libraries, and you know who you are! Brian and I separated for that time to catch up with our tasks, something of which you’re always compiling on the trip, and never seem to get around to complete. Eventually I’ll have it all down and ‘be in the groove’ as Brian would say.

Warmshowers host

Anyone who has traveled before using my favorite couchsurfing or warmshowers websites knows how much I love the community. Well, this stay ranks as top 5 ever as a guest. Linda opened up her home to avoid heavy downpours all night, and we could not have been more appreciative. Her neat studio was covered in many of her own art paintings. We shared stories of her running for school board, kayaking, and relationships. Her cats and pooch were adorable, especially when Brian would put his plate on the ground to be licked clean. Linda prepared meatloaf, potatoes, and broccoli with a glass of wine. By God, it was exactly what I needed. I put down some serious food that night, especially after the coffee cake. We slept in two comfy beds, and after a filling meal, a nice riding day, and some wine in my system I knew I was toast. It was the first night sharing a room with Brian, and let’s just say there was one person in the room who snored last night, and it wasn’t me. That’s okay though, the white noise was provided by the downpour on the roof, and I was out quicker than a donut at the end up a long day.

Stats

Start: Not sure, VA     Finish: Palmyra, VA

Day 3’s mileage: 66 miles, roughly      Total mileage: 177 miles roughly

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0