Trial magic, turtles, and STORMS - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Trial magic, turtles, and STORMS

Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m always surprised how well I sleep when cowboy camping. Last night I was fully dressed head to toe with a mosquito net to prevent the swamp bugs from bothering me when sleeping. As we packed up I ate my routine overnight oats to jumpstart the digestive system. Nothing like sugar with some oats. We were informed about an intense hail storm arriving around 3 pm, so an early start was necessary with 60 miles ahead. We quickly stopped at the restaurant we ate dinner at and ordered some breakfast and lots of coffee. A biscuit egg sandwich nourished this dude. I usually load up on a large breakfast on climbing days because today was going to be +6000 feet in rolling hills. Fully energized, we rolled out by 6:36 AM to open weekend roads and gloomy fog. The weather was humid, but our climbing hadn’t started yet so it wasn’t terrible.

The day’s plan was to assure we arrived in town before 2 o’clock and figure out where to sleep when we got there. We pushed to our first stop, 22 miles from the start. We averaged 12 mph during this section, and as we approached town a morning showered had started. We luckily found a McDonalds for shelter, and waited out the storm over coffee and snacks. I always enjoy our breaks.

When the rain broke, we scadaddled  out of town towards our next break in 17 miles. The humidity was like biking through a thin wall, and to top it off the sun peaked through. Never a favorable combination. Nonetheless, we were cruising once again, motivated to arrive in town before this monster storm. Along the way we must have encountered, and hopefully saved, five baby turtles from being crushed on the road. You wouldn’t believe the amount of road kill you see out here, so being able to save one was nice for a change. Plus they’re so cute.

Our second of three breaks came to us as a Hunt’s convenience store. We were welcomed by a young boy on rollarblades at the door. A family of children, mom, and grandparents all greeted us immediately and treated us with such kind hospitality. It’s crazy sometimes how instantaneously you can connect with other people you just meet. The little girl latched onto Jim, and soon enough they were sharing a bag of Chex mix and sharing turns with the baby turtle she nurtured. Grandma informed us that this weekend was the annual turtle race in their small town. Each turtle starts in the center, and the first to reach the wall of the circle wins. Thought that was pretty special. I was loving the conversation, but after chugging a chocolate milk I was ready for the last 20 miles. We filled out their cyclist guest book and were on our way.

The final miles were certainly hilly. In this humidity any hill could feel three times worse. The rule of thumb is drink regularly, even when not thirsty. I noticed how salty my sweat tasted, but realized it must be from all the canned goods I consume. A hill about five miles from town really took it out of us, so we spent some time under a tree for shade and conversed.

Eventually we cranked into town and immediately stopped at the local grocery store as the clouds were beginning to move in. There was a unsettling murmur in the air as the locals continuously talked about the storm. How bad could it be? We found the town park we could sleep in, and admired the size of the pavilion for protection from the impending storm. Instead of breaking down we cycled back to main street where I refilled water and the dudes went out to eat. I’m glad to announce I’m back on the donut grind after a brief hiatus. Now fully stocked, I rolled back down to the park and started my late lunch. Rice, beans, and chicken with my own curry blend put together before the trip. The spice really makes eating cooked meals much more enjoyable.

The clouds very quickly looked dark and ominous, and before I knew it the wind picked up from 10 mph to well over 20 mph. I had shit blowing all over the place, even my cooking pot was tossed around. I quickly packed everything into any bag it could fit in, and scurried into the concrete bathroom 30 feet away. Luckily in there I was protected, but our little pavilion was getting pounded. The rain unleashed at this point, and it seemed like the storm of ages. Thunder, lighting, torrential rain, and yes, hail. I stood watching at the open door as a frog leaped through puddles, worried that Jim and Old Timer were biking back through this. After 40 minutes of them not showing, I figured they had stayed indoors. To add insult to injury, I had no service. I began to ration my food and water because no one will ever find me! Jk, the rain subsidded and I heard the voice of rescue! The owner of the cafe drove Jim down to the park to notify me of their hideout. I packed up, almost forgetting my cooking pot, and hauled it to the restaurant in sandals and pjs.

As I walked in, Jim had informed me the generous owners were allowing us to sleep downstairs for the night. This was a dry place to store our belongings and ourselves. Had Jim and Old Timer not come here, we would have had a loooong night. I thanked the dudes for allowing me to enjoy the storm in a park bathroom while they sipped on coffee and lemon water, but of course I would have done the same thing. The kind waiter immediately asked if I needed anything. I politefuly declined at the moment; I was just happy to be indoors.

Fortunately, we met the nicest people in town. They allowed us three to sit at a table, charge up, and order lunch and dinner over the span of five or so hours. We were blessed with their generosity. Eventually we all ordered dinner, and being that breakfast is my favorite meal I ordered a short stack with two over-easys. Anyone who doesn’t enjoy cracking the yolk over a stack of pancakes hasn’t lived. While we filled up on food the second storm came into town. This one had less wind, but still extreme thunder storms. We repeatedly went outside and shook our heads thinking how lucky we were.

After several hugs were shared with the owners and waitress, we moved downstairs to our sleeping quarters for the evening. Of course the dudes were ready for bed by 7:30 pm, so I hurried up to accommodate their routine. We’re really starting to get along, and by that I mean we’re all smart asses to each other. It’s absolutely hilarious.

We were hollered at from upstairs to check out the rainbow. Magnificent. I even managed to capture some lightning in one image. Getting back into bed, I thought how unbelievable life has been on the road, and how fortunate I been thus far. This thought is interrupted by a HUGE lighting strike that put the restaurant out of power. Oh what a night this shall be. Goodnight daddy long legs.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0





Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0