The Start of Yellowstone National Park - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

The Start of Yellowstone National Park

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS:

Jackson, Wyoming to Grant Village, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming

Miles: 76.4

Considering the circumstances of having a bed, I actually didn’t sleep that well. There was a green light lit the entire night in the room, and my bunk was practically under it, but I wasn’t complaining because of how lucky I was to be there in the first place. I was told breakfast was at 7 AM, so I decided I would start biking later than usual so I could enjoy some breakfast. I packed up my goods before I ate, so I could head out when I was finished. Breakfast was leftover cheesy scrambled eggs, oatmeal with granola, half a croissant and donut, bowl of cereal, and coffee. I had a 75 mile day ahead of me through Yellowstone, so loading up on calories was necessary. After chatting with the workers and housemates for a bit, I rolled out of town back on the bike path. The views heading back on the path were just as stunning, and the weather was ideal for riding. I popped on some Kid Cudi, and rode 30 miles until the path ended. Along the way, I met another day cyclist named Geraldo, and we talked and biked for about 10 miles.

I made the 30 miles in good time, ate a clif bar and iced animal crackers, and lubed the chain. Nothing feels as smooth as your ride after a nice chain and ring cleaning. With that, I was on my way through the busy roads to Yellowstone National Park!

After climbing a respectable hill, I noticed two bikers ahead and thought to myself that I must have to know who they were. It took me until about the last tenth of a mile to realize it was Alex, the Belgian, and George, the Richmonder! I flew by them and screamed something stupid, but we all stopped up at a lodge to catch up! Turns out the lodge we stopped at was just off the Great Divide mountain bike trail because we met many other dudes biking the trail. If you think the trail I’m on seems difficult, you should check out the Great Divide Trail.

George, Alex, and I eventually rolled out together and entered the park under George’s park pass. Thanks George! I owe you a beer back in RVA! The roads offered pretty minimal shoulder, and RVs were very frequent. I eventually split up because I wanted to be off the road ASAP. Along the way though, I encountered exceptional views of the park. I’ve been to Yellowstone before, but traveling by bike changes everything. It feels brand new again. The turn offs were always loaded with people, and one family in particular was extremely interested in what I was doing. The mom kept taking pictures of me and telling her son to translate how and where to stand. I thought it was hilarious, so I asked if I could shoot their picture in return! I also met another cyclists, probably in his 60’s, biking from Alaska to Argentina. Wow, just wow.

After a while of just trees and RVs, I pulled into Grant Village where we all decided we would stay tonight. They offer a hiker/biker campground, and hold them off only for us. Before we purchased a site though, I always like to make a loop and see if there are other cyclists who would let me share their space and I would just pay them. As I was making the loop, a lady struck up a conversation with me, and eventually we were invited to camp in their area! Hannah, a guide for a non-profit called Wilderness Inquiry, offered to not only let us stay there, but join them for a Lewis and Clark history lesson, dinner, and campfire s’mores. Wilderness Inquiry holds outdoor adventures for kids (and adults), such as this trip to Yellowstone, all around the country and parts of the world. We enjoyed the company of about 20 other people, kids and adults, and helped out in any way we could. I chopped up vegetables for our absolutely delicious Mexican dinner, and Alex helped with the dishes. I can’t even explain how great having fresh veggies was when camping. Later, we brought the good old s’mores out, and I reminisced about how significant and fun camping was for me when I was younger. I was happy to see all these kids and adults enjoying the comforts of nature. I wrapped up the evening with a good conversation with George, then Hannah. I soon after settled into my tent. Today was the summer solstice, so at 9:45 pm you could clearly still see outside. What a perfect place to be for the longest day of the year, camping in Yellowstone with new friends and campfires. Life is good.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0