THE PACIFIC OCEAN - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

THE PACIFIC OCEAN

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS:

Corvallis, Oregon to Pacific City, Oregon

Distance: 90.2 miles

Elevation: +4,393 ft / -4,472 ft

Another excellent night’s sleep because of being in a bed. I woke up feeling well rested and ready to tackle this 90 mile day to Pacific City. I had no plans on where I would stay tonight, but nothing mattered because I knew I would see the PACIFIC OCEAN. I strolled down stairs and enjoyed a stout coffee and lovely meal with Mike and Lori. They filled we with the nourishing fuel and caffeine I needed to take on the ride. I can’t thank them enough for their hospitality and offerings during my stay with them. Truly exceptional people. I waved one last goodbye as I rolled away to a French bakery I’d been suggested to visit. I ordered the almond cream croissant, and holy moly guacamole was it good. The next ten miles I reminisced about the richness of that croissant, and searched for remaining pieces that may have fallen into my jungle of a beard. I moved along on the 20 mile stretch to Monmouth, blasting music and singing along the whole way. At one point I stopped, looked around, and smiled ear to ear. Today was easily one of the happiest days of riding.

When I arrived in Monmouth, I posted up at a coffeeshop and wrote a journal/sipped on some coffee. As I was departing, a couple pleasant ladies, Audrey and Betty, inquired about my journey. I answered a few questions they had, and embarked back on the open road. I rode on a bike path parallel to the highway, which always tends to lead to less stressful rides. I eventually hit a marker where I was suppose to turn, but the road looked like a straight highway. I indeed had to bike along this road, and for many miles I dealt with the noise and constant distraction of heavy traffic. There aren’t many roads that take vehicles to the Pacific coast, so I’m assuming this was just one of the least busy ones. Still feeling great, I stopped for lunch in Grande Ronde. I noticed an empty laundry mat, so I casually strolled in and sat in A/C with shade and a table to enjoy my lunch. Why didn’t I think of this idea sooner!

Having no one to chat with, I left pretty quickly to get to the coast. The ocean was calling my name. Every mile felt effortless because I knew at some point today I’d be overcome with happiness. At some point along the way, I stopped and took an Instagram video of my map. The importance of this moment will be revealed shortly.

I eventually made it to Otis, and was told by Lori the pie there was delicious. You don’t have to tell me twice. I pulled up to the Otis Cafe and noticed a ballin’ neon sign attached to their five table restaurant. I ordered the apple crunch pie, a la mode of course, and was in instant heaven. A lil sip of coffee, a lil bite of pie and ice cream does a dude good. As I checked my phone back off airplane mode, I saw a missed message from a friend of mine I met while working at Kingbird Farms in Galt, California. Turns out, Lynne had seen my Instagram video, and was currently staying with a friend in the city I was planning on stealth camping in! I freaked out when she invited me to stay with her, and zipped back to my bike in order to arrive ASAP.

After being on some of the busiest roads of the trip, I found myself on one of the most desolate, quiet, and naturesque road I’ve ever been on. Turns out the road was old scenic highway 101, so naturally it’s avoided because the newer highway is a better option. I called my brother as I took on the climb, and zoomed down the other side with a huge smile. I pedaled pretty quickly once I pulled up to Highway 101, and avoided at all costs looking to my left until I came to a viewpoint of the coast. I wanted my first visual of the Pacific Ocean to be beautiful, not some reflection through trees. I pedaled harder and harder once I saw a sign for viewpoint in 1/4 mile. My heart racing and breathing heavy once I crossed the street into the pull off. I looked down until I approached the cliff wall, and gradually raised my head.

The Pacific Ocean.

I broke down in tears, not thinking about anything but how beautiful the sun’s rays were on the water. How the smell of the ocean was almost forgotten about. The noise of the waves crashing on the beach down below. This was easily one of the happiest moments of my life, and I will never forget it. I made phone calls to a few people to share the rollercoaster of emotions I was feeling. I stood there for probably 45 minutes unable to get myself to leave. Eventually though, I wiped the tears from my cheeks and rolled to Pacific City.

I pulled into the driveway of this gorgeous house, and turned back out because I thought “This can’t be the house”. Lynne’s friend comes walking out and welcomes me in. I’m literally staying in one of the nicest homes in Pacific City. I immediately get excited once I see Lynne, and give her a huge hug. I go to place my bike outback, and I notice the incredible view we have of the ocean from the balcony. How the hell did I just get this lucky? We talked for the next couple hours, and I continuously thought to myself, I literally can’t believe I’m here in a house with two awesome people. Later, we slowly dipped ourselves into the hot tub overlooking the ocean. I slowly sipped an IPA, and tried to catch the random fireworks in the distance. It’s safe to assume I fell asleep quickly this night, but as I reflected on the day, I would say today was top 3 best days of my trip. The level of joy I felt through most of the day is something I wish on any human being. This tour has changed my life, and I’ll absolutely never forget the feeling I experienced today. Thank you all, for the continued support. I’ll be finished in two more days, but first, let me enjoy the coast!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0