Sunday, but not Sundae - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Sunday, but not Sundae

Heart 0 Comment 0

Last night I had such an in depth dream, which finally meant I slept well! I woke up at 5:30 AM, maybe having only waken once. Today our plan was as usual, find some breakfast joint, grab some coffee, and hit the road. But today is different, today is Sunday. Sunday in Small Towns, USA means EVERYTHING IS CLOSED. Luckily, we were in a large enough town where a Taco Bell was open, but we were literally the only people there. Ahead of us was a 65 mile day with limited services, and when there are limited services paired with it being Sunday, you better prepare for closed signs. We hung around finishing off breakfast and what not longer than usual, but hit the road around 8 AM. Our first quick stop was at the Santa Fe Trail Museum. Unfortunately, they were closed, but I snapped some pictures of neat pieces outside. Our next stop was Fort Larned, which really was the highlight of the day. Giving the best explanation as I can, Fort Larned was built to 1) Protect the Santa Fe Trail from being attacked as it was a 400+ mile highly traveled wagon trail, and 2) to train and house infantry for Indian and Civil wars. The museum was fascinating. I saw artifacts from Indian weaponry, infantry barracks, cooking tools, toys, and many other intriguing pieces from the era. We were given a brief explanation on the life of a private in the barracks from a man who dressed the period. He demo’d loading a rifle and allowed us to feel how heavy they were. Overall, incredible stop, and overwhelmingly proud that people have preserved this fort.

It was rough knowing it was already 10 AM and we had 65 miles ahead of us was a bit. The temperatures in the afternoon are pretty excessive. The roads were open and skies were light blue with beautiful marshmallow clouds though, so that took my mind off the temperature. The fields of grain literally went to the horizon, and I continuously thought how I’ve never seen anything like this with my own two eyes. Had I never done this trip, I may never had seen or been where I currently am. I took the lead for a bit when our direction turned into a headwind, but with five strong bikers we formed a great team. At one point, Alex the Belgian fell behind, we think he ate one to many granola bars this morning. The 20-mile stretch felt incredibly long, but we knew there was lunch at the end. On the back of all our minds though was the day, Sunday. We arrived not a hunger pain too soon. CLOSED. I silently cursed to myself, all I wanted was cold water. All was well though, we anticipated this and found benches for our own little picnic. The sun and humidity were in full blast, and with a partially full stomach and heat like this, you better believe we took a siesta. I passed out laying on the bench, and fortunately for mankind Old Timer snapped a picture for the world to see. I, for one, believe I look like sleeping beauty, but other teammates agreed I just am the ugly child.

With two water bottles left, we took to the open road, thanking the Kansas wind Gods for a tailwind/crosswind. Feeling rejuvenated, I started some Pandora, went into GO-mode, and took off from the group. When you’re on one road for 30 miles, sometimes you just gotta let loose and ride your ride. Almost out of water and profusely sweating, we were fortunate enough to hit a rest stop where I loaded up my bottles and drank enough to hydrate a village. After this little break, we all kicked a bit to the next town. A game of tag had started amongst the group, so whenever I saw someone coming up into my mirror, I picked up the pace to avoid them. I got tagged though, but quickly got someone else. We have some real strong riders in our group now. You’d be surprised with what you’re capable of after a month of riding every day.

We took a very brief break in a small town because it had zero services. Craving milkshakes, we inquired with a local if any dairy bars existed in our destination town. Alas, after days and days of being disappointed, we finally were told there was an ice cream shoppe in town!! I’m not kidding when I tell you, Old Timer kicked it into overdrive, and for a good 5 miles we averaged 16-18 mph. At one point I was over 20 mph, and when we arrived I nocticed we ended up going 12 miles in 45 minutes. We absolutely demolished the last section of our 65 mile day, all because of our huge craving for milkshakes. As we approached town, we wanted Old Timer to lead us to our reward. Rolling down Main Street like kids looking for candy on Halloween, we finally saw the sign for ice cream. No, no, no, NOOOOOO. CLOSED. Oh my $&@$@/@”-&$. I let my cravings exceed my expectations. I was so disappointed. How is an ice cream bar closed on a Sunday night? I couldn’t believe it. Another day of settling for dollar general popsicles, but honestly I didn’t want just that anymore. We biked back to the DG (dollar general) and I snagged a chocolate milk and groceries. Chugged the milk like my first natty light in college, and sat around the shaded wall of DG with the boys. At this point we settled down after some sugar entered our bloodstream. We needed a real meal now, so we rolled like a biker gang to the nearest tavern. I’ve legit never felt more like an outsider like I did walking into this drinking hole. A woman glanced at me like, “Who da fuq is dis” True story.

The rest of the crew ordered dinner, I decided to wait until the city park to cook. The TVs offered some hint into what’s going on in the world, but I had no interest. Tired of seeing awful things on the news. We eventually made way to the city park, and just chilled by the closed pool until the local baseball team finished practice. I whipped up a delightful meal including: rice, Cajun white beans, tuna, and mushrooms. Everything but the rice came from a can, and I am damn proud of it. In order to get a filling meal inexpensively, ya gotta do what ya gotta do. Luckily I brought my curry blend which brightens the appearance and flavor. We cleaned up, set up the tents on concrete, and got to talking while the sun fell from the sky. Jim, Old Timer and I laid on benches and tents and laughed until we couldn’t anymore. If I told you why we were in tears, you’d have wished I didn’t. Regardless, these guys (Old Timer, Jim, Patrick, and Alex) are something special. We’re having a great time together, and I wouldn’t ask it for any other way. Each day I try to cheers to the fact we are safe and alive, and that I wouldn’t want to be doing this with any one else. Cheers!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0