Rollin’ into the sun - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Rollin’ into the sun

Heart 0 Comment 0

Breakfast of CHAMPIONS

I woke up this morning the way I laid in bed. I literally didn’t move, that’s how tiyard I was. I was up by 6 AM via alarm clock to give myself time to pack up. It’s something I haven’t figured out yet, but maybe I never will. I’m learning what I need most, and I’m stategically placing items in certain bags based off which side of the bike I have easier access too when stopping. Moving along, Cathryn had generously offered to prepare breakfast for us, and I think I could have cried when the meal was in front of me. Local scrambled eggs, local bacon, from scratch rye bread levain fried in the skillet, slow-drip coffee, and a large blueberry smoothie. I secrectly pinched myself because I  thought I was dreaming. By the end of the last gulp of smoothie, my stomach was full, but knowing I just ate the perfect meal hyped me up for today’s ride.

Picturesque

We said goodbye to Cathryn and Mango (golden retriever), and we were off with warm hearts and big tummys. Nothing at this point would stop us! Boom, rain. IT ONLY SAID 10% chance. Whatever, we’ll just get dressed and deal with it. 10 minutes later, no rain. $&@#%. Lesson learned. It’s always easier to dress down then dress up, in my opinion. Once the rain subsided we were averaging a good pace. Hills definitely happened, but we took care of them. The scenery today was gorgeous, I couldn’t stop taking pictures. Sometimes you look down and realize you’ve gone 15 miles and it felt like nothing. I like these days. We had our first of many dog chases. Three of them took off right toward us, luckily I pulled ahead. Brian had his water bottle ready to go, but we escaped easily.Our lunch destination was Burger King in Buchanan, VA. I usually would snack before lunch, but breakfast was filling. I had the usual, clif bar, peanut butter, and tortilla wraps. When I’m too hungry, I take a spoonful of peanut butter, eat it, then shove tortilla pieces in my mouth. Works well for me. We chose BK for the wifi and tables. Always looking for conveniences all in one place.

Daleville,VA

Our destination was a baseball park in Daleville. We only had 20 some miles to camp. I’ve refrained from using the word ‘only’ anymore because ‘only’ 20 miles could be 20 miles of hills. The latter end of the day can be daunting if you’re not mentally prepared. You can’t settle in until you know you’re at the camp site, or you will just constantly watch the odometer every minute. We needed another resupply, so we hit a Food Lion a couple miles out from our park. The only thing I purchased was a hefty piece of carrot cake. I was disappointed, they used regular icing, not cream cheese icing. That’s what you get for $2.00 a slice. We finally overcame a few more hills and set up camp in front of portapotties. The stench was so worth being protected from the chilly wind. We also had a magnificent view, as you can see in the pictures. Another neat thing about our site was the softball fields close by. I had the chance to talk with Liz and my brother Kevin while watching a game in extra innings. I’ll never forget how nice that was. My dinner was parcooked Spanish rice, a package of tuna, and granola. I drifted to sleep with a smile on my face.

Stats

Starts: Lexington, VA        Finish: Daleville, VA

Day 6 mileage: 50ish      Total: 341ish

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0