Rest Day in Eugene - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Rest Day in Eugene

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS: Rest Day in Eugene

Distance: 7 miles around town

Elevation: N/A

I woke up and felt like a train hit me. Apparently, I was having a small allergy attack. I found out from Kevin that Eugene is known for major pollen issues from grass seed farms. Nothing serious came of it though, and it went away pretty quickly. Kevin made some coffee, so I sipped on some morning joe and relaxed knowing there would be minimal riding today. Unfortunately, some of us had to return to work, so I tagged along as Meg drove April to work. We then drove over to the grocery store called Fred Meyers for upcoming days of riding. Fred Meyer sort of reminds me of Wegmans, but it also includes clothing, electronics, jewelry, etc. It’s definitely impressive though. I grabbed all my groceries and then drove back home. Along the way, we passed Hayward Field, and I geeked out a bit because of how famous the track is.

We arrived back to Aprils, and Meg prepared some cheesy egg burritos that were the bomb. I enjoyed one as Kylie, Dex, and I played a few rounds of Jenga.

Around noon, we met Sue and Kirk at Hop Valley Brewing company for a nice lunch. I’ve had a hankering for a craft brewski, and the Citrus Mistress IPA fulfilled that craving. We hung out for a bit before all separating and exploring the city. I biked over to a local coffeeshop that officially had the best coffee I’ve had on the trail. Better than Dillion’s coffeeshop back in Montana. I worked on a few tasks like figuring out my next few days as the trip winds down, and writing some journals. I can and can’t believe the final days are upon me. It’s been incredible.

After a second cup of coffee, I strolled around the quaint neighborhood admiring the uniqueness of Eugene. I would absolutely consider moving here, it’s such a neat town with so many places I would wish to explore. I stopped in a grocery store to pick up some salsa for dinner tonight, shamelessly snatching a $0.99 cent blueberry muffin before checking out. I should have went with the poppyseed.

I raced home in order to get ready for dinner at Lori’s house. We soon were on our way, and arrived ready to prepare some dinner. I was put in charge of the grill, and spent a good bit of time deboning the salmon. Once seasoned and ready, I threw the fish and veggies on the grill and drank a refreshing IPA. We all sat around and enjoyed each other’s company as the appetizers were being consumed. Every person I’ve met through this group has been an absolute delight. They’re all extremely interesting and good-hearted. Eventually, the fish and veggies were done, and we all filled out plates with tasty food. I forewarned the party in case I missed any bones. Later on, Dex and Kylie kindly served me an aesthetically dressed plate of brownie a la mode. They kindly served me seconds as well. Almost thirds, but I graciously declined. They took off to the trees and climbed to the top like it was the easiest feat ever. I’ll forever be impressed with these two. We all said our goodbye after our lovely dinner and headed home. Just like every other night, most of us were ready to hit the sack. Another magnificent day on this trip. I’m just glad I could take advantage of exploring such a neat town with people who live here. Tomorrow I’ll separate from the crew and head north towards Astoria. I’m definitely not looking forward to separating tomorrow morning, but I’m just fortunate to have met the crew. I’ll sleep happy tonight.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0