It’s all about the people you meet - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

It’s all about the people you meet

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS:

Jackson, MT to Hamilton, MT

Distance: 95 miles

Another morning where I wasn’t in any rush to leave, but I knew I should be for I had almost another 100 mile century to ride. My plan recently has been push hard to get to Missoula, MT because I love that town so much and can’t wait to be there. I packed up my belongings, ate some peanut butter and oatmeal in the hotel, and by 8 AM was on the road to Wisdom. Something I didn’t mention in the last post was the overwhelming mosquito issue Wisdom experiences. It’s also the reason I didn’t stay there last night. As I rolled closer and closer to town, I actually had to put pants, a jacket, and mosquito net on because the bugs were so bag. I could hear them bouncing off my jacket as I cruised into town. One of the best items I brought on this trip was the mosquito mask (thanks aunt Mary and uncle Eddie)! I quickly undressed and trotted into the coffeeshop. Yet another delicious coffee, I’m beginning to be impressed with Montana’s great tasting coffee. I knew I shouldn’t stay long for I had a long riding day, so I quickly typed out a journal and chugged the caffeine. Ahead of me was a respectable climb, with 12 miles of downhill once I reached the pass. I geared back up, chatted up with some east-bounders about what lays ahead, and hit the open road on this beautiful Montana day. I’ve been so fortunate with weather recently, I’m due for something crappy soon enough.

Chief Joseph Pass was the pass, and the final hill of the day. The route takes you through Beaverhead National Forest. I LOVE biking through these parks, especially because of how light the traffic was and quiet the surroundings were. I rode along a clear as glass stream with many fishys enjoying the warm sun. At one point I even shut my music off just to enjoy the peacefulness a little bit more. After a while, I was curious when the climbing would begin, and to my astonishment I had already completed 8 miles of it. Definitely didn’t feel like I was climbing THAT much. Eventually the road became steeper, and I hit the top with sweat running down my shades. I quickly munched on a clif bar and muffin, and FLEW down this mountain road for 12 miles. It was extremely fun and rewarding, and I’ll take hills all day like this if it means downhill for 10+ miles. The scenery was gorgeous. More canyons and green lush along the flowing river. One thing I forgot would happen though, as you descend 5,000+ feet, is the temperature. It went from cool, mid 70’s to probably upper 80’s, possibly 90’s. It got HOT, real quick. Luckily, not to far from the end of the major descent was a country store. I stopped to refill

my bottles, but noticed another loaded bike and wanted to see who it was.

I walked up to the biker, who introduced himself as David. David is riding west as well, but this was the first time meeting him. He flew to the US from England to ride the trail, and will be flying home in Missoula. David was a blessing to have met. We shared stories of our travels, ranging from acts of kindness to how we’ve grown along the way. Our conversation was beautiful, and at the moment I wish I could have been riding with him for weeks. By the end of the conversation, I felt like I’d known him for years, and was sad leaving him. I’m looking forward to staying connected with him, and hopefully seeing him again in the future. What a guy.

From there, I left Sula, and aimed to ride another 40 miles to Hamilton, where I would be staying with a Warmshower’s hosts. I haven’t dealt with heat like this since probably Kansas, so I was chugging water much more than usual. The ride was really neat though because it went through a canyon, but with little shoulder was certainly nerveracking. Long story short, I booked it until a shoulder opened up. I stopped about 10 miles from my destination, accidentally filled my water bottle up with soda water. Who sets the water tab on a soda fountain as Sprite?! Nonetheless, I chugged the sugary water and focused on making it to Hamilton. A second wind and groovy music allowed for enough energy to climb the last little ascent to Jo and Craig’s home.

Their home was absolutely breathtaking. The lawn was perfectly manicured within the foliage of the mountains. The inside was even more beautiful, and I found myself saying how badly I wanted their kitchen as my own. Jo prepared a lovely home cooked meal, and I scarfed down the food like I’d never eaten before. The food was just so fresh and delicious, and after a few weeks of rice, beans, and canned protein, I was exuberant for a home cooked meal. Jo offered some homemade cookies and milk to wash down dinner, and I must say they were perfect. Being the house was fully occupied, I was given the option of sleeping in the RV. HECK YEAH! I love RV’s, and this one in particular was the perfect size. I snuggled into the comforts of sheets, a mattress, and several pillows, and effortlessly fell asleep to the sounds of nature’s noises. I couldn’t have asked for better hosts while in Hamilton, and I cannot wait to reconnect with Jo and Craig in the future.

Today was one of those days where every mile, whether easy or hard, was worth every pedal. I’ll never forget the people I’ve met today, and will return the generosity and kindness I’ve been given for the remainder of my own life. I’m very happy with what this tour has given me physically, mentally, emotionally, and even spiritually. I’m looking forward to the final weeks of this trip very much.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0