Idaho: America’s underrated state - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Idaho: America’s underrated state

Heart 1 Comment 0

STATS:

Nez-Perce Clearwater National Forest, Idaho to Grangeville, Idaho

Distance: 71 miles

I woke up in astonishment. I had slept the entire night while camping. It must have been the 90+ miles of riding yesterday. I took my time sorting out my gear and packing up. Today was the first day in weeks I actually cooked my oatmeal instead of letting it soak overnight. Turns out I’m a terrible cook because I burnt my oatmeal. I’m going back to the soak method. Biff and I hung around for breakfast and coffee for a bit, and sleathfully exited the campground before anyone realized we were there. By 7:30 AM we hit the remaining portion of the downhill along the river. A few miles away, we encountered a historic ranger station sight built in the early 30’s. One of the first built in the region, the buildings displayed kitchen, hunting, and construction objects, and took us back in time to explain how life was managed in these desolate forests back then. I still can’t even imagine how they maintained this lifestyle so far from any services of civilization.

We left after a half hour or so. Being on a slight descent, we were making excellent time. I noticed on a turnoff ahead a man with what looked like three large rigs. I pulled over to say hi, and he introduced himself as Sire Keith Allen. He has been on the road since 2007, and carries 3 HUGE loads. Actually, as he told us, he travels about a mile or two A DAY, and has to walk back every time for a different rig. He had 3 bikes in total, all of which were nothing close to fully functional, a shopping cart on top of a trailer, and soooo many other oddities. I mean I seriously couldn’t believe my eyes, and the picture does not show the amount of belongings he walks everyday.

After being blown away, I left and booked the remainder of the 25 miles to our first town. While there, we cruised right into the only cafe there, and instantly struck up a conversation with two mountain biker women. We quickly got along and the conversation was fantastic. Ash and Annie are touring the US hosting endurocycling events specifically for amateur/beginner women. I mean how fricken’ awesome does that sound. They also knew a heck ton about the Trans Am race, and it turns out Ash interviewed the winner from last year on her podcast. We all laughed and chatted for an hour or so, and I invited them to please visit Richmond and bring an event there! As we wrapped up, Ash and Annie were the first ones up and out. Biff asked for the check, and the waitress informed us our new friends paid for the whole bill. We just about shit our pants. Neither one of us even noticed this transaction go down, and can’t even begin to thank them enough for the act of kindness. Lucky for us (and unlucky for Ash), her wallet was left behind, so we both wrote notes on a paper and placed it into her wallet. I really wish the best for them two, and hope to cross paths with them again.

Full of pancakes and cinnamon rolls, we journeyed into just some beautiful Idaho terrain. Although hilly and little shoulder to bike on, Idaho has offered some of the best geographic features on the trip. One of which are canyons, but they’re only enjoyable when the wind slices through them in the direction you’re biking. 15 miles later, we eventually hit Kooskia, where we would rest and eat lunch before a severe climb. Biff took to a cafe for pie and ice cream and I stuck with the usual bagel with peanut butter and banana. Gotta get dat potassium. Biff always has something interesting to say, whether that’s about his own life or something historically significant. I find him very fun to be around. After more chatting under the coolness of the shade, we eventually willed ourselves into Idaho’s hot ass sun, and approached one of the steepest and longest ascents of the trip.

The climb tested me big time. It wasn’t just the steepest that tested me though, it was also the hot ass sun rays, and the fact that the road was fine, fresh gravel. Small rocks, tar, and whatever else was there constantly rattled through my fenders making for some extremely annoying noises. The climb was incredibly tough, especially when we were stopped in no man’s land on one of the steepest parts of the climb because of construction work. HOW?! WHY?! WTF?!

We pushed for another few miles, and obviously was rewarded with stunning views of the valley, and soon strolled though another reservation with lime green fields of wheat. ‘Twas a pleasurable and peaceful ride into Grangeville.

I had promised myself ice cream when owning the ascents, so after doing some grocery shopping, I picked up a Ben and Jerry’s coffee toffee crunch and practically ate the whole thing. I offered some to Biff for a pop tart. Fair trade. We rolled another couple miles to the city’s park and cooked a lovely meal watching youngins play baseball. Always my favorite evenings. We set up our tents near the creek, and quickly winded down from a solid biking day. Idaho has stout climbs ahead of this, but I’m ready.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0