Friends turned Family - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Friends turned Family

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS:Eugene, Oregon to Corvallis, Oregon

Distance: 45 miles

Elevation: +328 ft / -518 ft

I woke up naturally around 6:30 AM. I was in no rush to say bye to the group I’ve spent time with for the past two weeks. It’s really incredible how fast time ticks out here. I put together a quick bagel with butter and jam. Everything is better with butter, as April would say. I procrastinated packing up knowing that I would be heading north and the crew would head westward. When the time came though, I passed out some notes to the couples, and hugged every one of them. I’m really going to miss their company and good times, but the road is calling. I thanked April for allowing me to stay at her house, and hoped she doesn’t notice the superglue project I had to put back together in the computer room. 😉 I believe I squeezed the life out of Kylie and Dexter because I’m sure going to miss hanging around them. They’re amazing people who have undoubtedly been raised to change other people’s lives like they have to mine. I thanked and squeezed Meg and Dean, and promised to visit them on the coast soon enough. The family you create out here is incredible. I thought to myself biking away how quickly you come to know a fellow touring cyclist. I thought maybe it’s because you’re so exposed to all the pleasures and difficulties of touring while together that it truly shows who you are. Whatever the case, I would ride with them forever and ever, and consider them family now. As the tears rolled down this dusty face, I hit the road to Corvallis where I’d stay with hosts from Warmshowers.

Physically, I felt excellent after having the rest day, and felt even better knowing I only had 40ish miles to my destination. I rode off route for a bit, and definitely experienced the headwinds Sue had warned me about. I was so incredibly happy to be riding again though, it didn’t really affect me that much mentally. I just rode through it screaming songs at the top of my lungs. I wonder if anyone hears my horrendous voice, but I’ll never tone it down for anyone.

I didn’t stop much between Eugene and Corvallis, so by the time I arrived it was only noon. Oregon State University is located here, so I had plenty of coffeeshops to load around in. I chose a place called Tried and True, which ended up being a wonderful cup of joe. I chillaxed outside and put together the coveted blueberry bagel with peanut butter and banana. Hit the spot.  

I stuck around for a while figuring out where to stay in Portland once I arrive. I’m planning on hitting the coast tomorrow, but the actual route doesn’t end until Astoria, Oregon, which is about 3 days away. I’ve heard fantastic stories about camping on the coast, so I’m greatly looking forward to that.

Eventually, I made my way over to Lori and Mike’s house. Their house and cul-de-sac was gorgeous. They invited me in and introduced me to Remi, their Golden Retriever puppy. I showered and dressed, quietly laughing under my breath how Dexter use to make comments about my variety of clothing options. Lori and I chatted a bit about their tours and mine, then Mike’s brother invited us over to watch the golden retrievers wrestle and drink ciders. He gave a quick tour of the garden and invited me to pick blueberries. I went to TOWN. They’re one of my favorite fruits, and they grow very well here. They were soooo delicious and plentiful. We strolled back over to Mike and Lori’s where dinner was being served. Lori made sweet potato tacos with a plethora of healthy, vegetable-heavy toppings. I was in heaven!

We talked and talked about everything from their incredible touring stories to their children to our future touring plans. Mike then did me a huge favor and walked me through printing the labels for shipping my bike home. That was extremely helpful and I’m grateful for it. I quickly faded fast, and we all hit the sack around the same time. Just as fast as Kylie and Dex could eat a sirloin steak, I was out for the count.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0