Another Wonderful Oregon Night - Coast To Coast - CycleBlaze

Another Wonderful Oregon Night

Heart 0 Comment 0

STATS:

Mitchell, Oregon to Smith Rock State Park, Oregon

Distance: 67 miles

Elevation: +3,360 ft / -3,301 ft

I don’t think I’ve slept that sound in weeks. It was one of those nights where you wake up in the same position you fell asleep in. The best part of the hostel was not having to pack up anything in the morning. I rolled out of bed and right to the coffee pot and oatmeal/cereal. Nothing beats a good sugary bowl of carbohydrates before a long climb. Knowing how hot today would be, I chugged some water until I had a slight stomach ache. We rolled out as the clock struck 7:30 AM, and began our climbing soon there after.

The absolute minute you transition from biking downhill to biking uphill, the sun seems 15 degrees hotter. The sweating started immediately, and didn’t end for two hours of our climb. The hill wasn’t steep by any stretch, but it lasted 13 miles. April and I talked for the first 45 minutes of the climb, which always helps distract you from the joys of climbing. I broke off at one point and hit the hill with a controlled, working climb. One of my realizations on the trip has been how much I enjoy these long hills. They’re just a fun challenge for myself every time. Once at the top, I rolled down another mile to the rest stop where the crew and I took a much deserved snack break. The snacks that pop up on the breaks range from tortilla chips to cheese and crackers to fig newtons. We munched for a bit, and as we were pulling out, friends of the crew rolled up by car and greeted us. Craig and Sharyl came bearing ice cubes, water, and soda. Being that we had no services for the first 40ish miles today, they couldn’t have arrived at any more of a perfect time. Having cold, chilled water, we were ready to tackle the 30 miles downhill into town. As we hit the road, we were immediately hit with a headwind. Awwwww come onnnnnnnn! We couldn’t reap the full rewards of the climb up because of a slight headwind going down! It didn’t stop us in our tracks, but it sure slowed me down a few mph. Even so, the ride into town felt fast for being 30 miles, and eventually we arrived to Prineville where lunch was waiting for us.

We chose a place on route, and ordered the coldest of cold beverages to cool us down. Meg and I pulled the old switcheroo, and split our plates to taste test two dishes instead of one. I sat between Kylie and Dexter as they took down a sirloin steak; I was mad impressed.

We knew eventually we’d have to walk back outside into the tundra, so one by one we prepared ourselves for the heat. I made a trip to a grocery store before leaving and purchased on impulse a can of cold brewed coffee. So, so, SO delicious, and just what I needed. I rolled into the remaining 20 miles feeling like a million buckaroos. The road was pretty much flat, and with some views of the upcoming mountains of Oregon, I couldn’t care less how long the ride took me.

We eventually arrived to Smith Rock State Park, and set up our tents in an awesome field full of tents . The park is hugely popular with rock climbing, so the area was crawling with adventure junkies. We set up our tents under a few trees, and hiked down to the river for a quick swim. The water was extremely refreshing, and our view of the mountains was something I’ll never forget. I can now cross swimming in a river around huge rocks off my trip bucket list. We hiked back up feeling great, and began to prepare dinner with Craig and Sharyl. They prepared a large salad, stir-fried vegetables, baked potatoes, and several types of burgers. Once the shade set in, the evening was even more beautiful. Easily one of the best camping nights of the trip. I couldn’t help but take as many mental pictures as possible. We all clean up from dinner, and slowly made our way back to our tents. I watched as Kylie, full of energy, continued her bouldering practice on the rock wall in the park. What an amazing place this park was, but that has been Oregon every day for me. I’m incredibly happy to be ending the trip here because everyday is something new. What a trip of a lifetime.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0