Please be patient - Cycleblazing in the Black Forest - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2022

Please be patient

The tour is finished but not the journal

In retrospect I am more than glad to be home. While on a local ride just three days back from the wonderful tour in the Black Forest, I got acute stomach pains. The pain was so intense that it was obvious that this was an emergency and we were off to the hospital in Starnberg. After several excruciating hours they had a diagnosis and I was operated immediately. It was an unusual and life threatening kind of hernia, an obturator hernia. It is also known as "little old lady hernia", that name is easier for me to remember. Smile. It was a close call and they had never seen one at this hospital before. Praise to my doctors that the laparoscopic operation was successful. I am still in the hospital but healing well and feel okay. That was a big scare for poor Janos. I have never in my life been in such pain. 

When I am back home I'll finish my journal of course. In the meantime Susan has posted such a wonderful write up and beautiful pictures, you know it was a fantastic tour to the very end. The little bit of rain didn't spoil it. I am so thankful for many things: a wonderful time on the road and being taken care of so well at home.

The last two days of my journal are under construction. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 34
Angela NaefThank goodness you got the help you needed! Hope you have a speedy recovery. I’m enjoying your journeys, thank you for sharing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lucy MartinOh my goodness—glad you were treated quickly and successfully. And that it didn’t occur in the middle of your tour. Get well soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Angela NaefMany thanks for the good wishes, Angela!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Lucy MartinThanks so much, Lucy!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Nancy GrahamOh Suzanne, how scary that had to have been! For both of you. It is a true relief to have been taken care of so quickly and so well. Heal well by being patient with yourself. Healing thoughts sent your way.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
Sue and I are sending you our heartfelt wishes for a swift recovery. It’s a good thing you got the help you needed quickly. Sue’s sister also had such a hernia, and it too was both painful and frightening. Rest, and you will be back on the bike soon!
Our best to Janos.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Keith KleinThanks, Keith and Susan, for your good wishes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauHoly mackerel, I'm glad you survived that disaster. Thank goodness for the medical team that diagnosed the problem and addressed it so quickly. Please take good care of yourself and get well soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonOh, Suzanne! We’re both so sorry for you, but thankful you were able to get the care you needed in time. That’s so scary, besides the agonizing pain. You and Janos both must have been worried sick until you made it to the hospital and received the care you needed.

I wonder if you strained yourself trying to manage your bike on the trains and at your hotels?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen ClassenThis was so unexpected to read. I am so relieved that you were quickly diagnosed and are now healing. Thank goodness it didn’t happen while on tour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg! Yes, very thankful that got the diagnosis right and operated immediately.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonI'm pretty sure I didn't ever strain myself while traveling. But whatever the cause, I'm so thankful for the successful outcome of the operation. After they had the diagnosis, I was in the operating room almost immediately.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen ClassenI am also very happy it didn't happen on tour! I'm not sure all hospitals in smaller towns could have dealt with it. So much to be thankful for.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kathleen JonesUgh what a nightmare. I think we will all be patient with the patient. I hope the recovery is quick and I look forward to seeing more journals from you and Janos soon. Hugs to both of you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesSo glad this problem did not happen while you were on tour and that you were able to get the necessary diagnosis and surgery so quickly. Now be sure to take the required time to recover. We hope Janis recovers quickly as well. Take care, Dodie
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mike AylingWhat a shock for you and Janos.

Hope you have a speedy recovery.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierSuzanne, we send our wishes for a speedy recovery. Take care of yourself.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsWow that's scary. Things could have been much different, and worse. I'm glad the net result was in your favor. Here's wishing you a speedy recovery!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamYes, it was scary but fortunate that I was operated on almost immediately. Many thanks for your healing thoughts.😊
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen JonesThanks, Kathleen! Home now, Phew! I am recovering rapidly.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks, Grampies! I am taking it easy now. I'm home and all is well.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Mike AylingThanks, Mike! All is well now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich FrasierThanks for the good wishes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Keith AdamsMany thanks, I am home now and recovery is going fast.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich HarrellJust saw your post!
That is very frightening -- glad to see you are home and healing quickly.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich HarrellHi Rich, sorry to be missing out on your challenges! First too busy riding my bike, then too busy not being able to ride my bike. I hope to be back in the saddle soon.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Eva WaltersSo glad you got a correct diagnosis and such a quick laparoscopic operation. Our daughter recently had regular surgery to correct an unexpected femoral hernia. After reading about your experience, I’m so relieved she’s had it treated before it became life-threatening. Sounds like you’re recovering well. Do take it easy and look after yourself!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Eva WaltersGlad your daughter got good care, too. I now know the correct name of what I had (not what I had written). It was an obturator hernia, also known as "little old lady hernia"... ha ha.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpAs everyone else has said, glad you weren't on the road at the time of such a frightening experience and that you got good, immediate care. I trust you are healing quickly. This looked like such a beautiful tour, I look forward to the remainder when you've healed and can post. I also hope they put good mesh in for the hernia or didn't need it - Nigel had a strangulated inguinal hernia some years back and the mesh they put in still causes him a fair bit of pain at times.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Emily SharpYes, I am feeling better every day. They did put in mesh to prevent a repeat. I hope it doesn't cause me any problems. But anything would be better than going through that pain again!
Completion of journal coming soon!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Beth ArtBest wishes for a speedy recovery.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Beth ArtThanks for the kind wishes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Cathryn RamsdenI'm so glad you're okay. What a shock.

Have so been enjoying your journal. We've had two holidays in the Black Forest, staying in Wolfach, so it was lovely to see your pictures. It's beautiful there. Recover well xx
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Cathryn RamsdenThanks for your good wishes! I am doing much better now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago