Some More Afterthoughts - Bike Tour 2022 - St Louis to Oregon - CycleBlaze

Some More Afterthoughts

One odd thing about the tour is that I kept forgetting about certain towns and events. It was only upon constructing this journal that I remembered many of them. At the risk of leaving things out, here are some lingering impressions of my 2022 tour.

Best and Worst Drivers

By far the best drivers I encountered were in Kansas. Kansas drivers stop, look, and listen at stops signs. They are so careful they are unnerving. They drive under the speed limit. (Truth be told this methodical behavior carried over to restaurants. Getting served always seemed to take forever in Kansas. I mean, what's the hurry? You're in rural Kansas.)

The worst drivers were the family of road ragers I dealt with in eastern Kansas. Their anger would have been upsetting anywhere but it was so out of place in Kansas that it was truly upsetting.

Honorable mention for worst drivers was the jerk who passed Mark on the blind curve in Idaho. There were plenty of other incidents of bad driving behavior but you'd expect that in two months on the road.

Best and Worst Awards

The best breakfast was Rachel Posthumus's scrambled eggs at her Warmshowers home in Ennis, Montana. (The dinner she and her husband Mike cooked up wasn't half bad either.) The best dinner was the spinach ravioli at the Lake Restaurant in Grant Village in Yellowstone. 

The worst food was the beef burrito I had in Canon City, Colorado. Second place goes to the Chinese food in Cambridge, Idaho. 

Best hostel goes to Spokes N' Hostel in Mitchell, Oregon. Honorable mentions go to the Northwest Portland hostel, the Churchill School hostel in Baker City, Oregon, and The Pad in Silverthorne, Colorado. 

Best campground goes to Nehalem State Park on the Oregon coast. Worst campground goes to Grant Village in Yellowstone - because I froze. 

Hardest day was the short ride with crazy crosswinds from Eureka to El Dorado in Kansas. Second place goes to the long ride into the wind through the Wind River Reservation in Wyoming.

Biggest surprise was how we all adapted to climbing. By the end of the trip we were unstoppable. I was trying to keep the weight in my panniers down to ease the climbs. By the end of the trip the loss of weight on my body far exceeded anything I threw out along the way.

Worst motel/accomodations goes to Guffey, Colorado. Many riders think this place is quaint and amusing but I thought it was a dump. Literally. Second place goes to the trailer motel in Hells Canyon. (I wish we had known about the Idaho Power company campgrounds in the canyon. We rode by a few and they looked nice.) Another dud was the Super 8 in Corvallis. It was vastly overpriced and poorly maintained.

Best hotel goes to the Comfort Inn in Redmond. We payed through the nose for it but it was worth it. Honorable mention goes to the Courtland Hotel in Fort Scott, Kansas. It was such a cool old place and the owner freed my bike from a frozen lock. Also, Kim's Cabins in Windsor, Missouri on the Katy Trail was comfy.  

Biggest disappointment was Dodge City. I thought National Beef was more interesting that the cowboy side of town. Second place goes to Daniel Boone's grave. The modern, polished headstone looked ridiculous.

Some Thanks

Thanks to Corey and Mark for most excellent bike touring company. I'm glad you got to finish your TransAm.

I met and re-met so many engaging people during this trip. It's one of the perks of being on the TransAm route. There are too many to name here. But a special note is in order. To my friend Rachel Cannon: I hope Annie gets all the fritters she can eat in dog heaven. Thanks for coming by to see me. 

And finally a special thanks to my wife, Ginny Mayes, who kept the house from burning down while I was away. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Kelly IniguezThanks for putting this journal up, I've enjoyed it.

How much weight did you lose? Did you keep it off? I lost seven pounds in seven weeks this summer. This, with eating all restaurant meals, and frequent servings of ice cream. I've managed to keep it off in the month we've been home. It's been an effort. No more ice cream!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettI think I lost somewhere between 15 and 20 pounds, mostly after we got into the mountains. I look pudgy in the Hoosier Pass picture. Also, I seemed to have no problem climbing the last several passes or riding the short steep hills on the Oregon coast.

I do try to avoid losing too much weight or losing it too fast. Beer, even one, helps. I preferred vanilla shakes though. Mark liked to drink chocolate milk during the rides. It doesn't taste all that great when you've been riding for several hours but it does have all the stuff your body needs.
I'm glad you liked the journal. Cheers.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo John PickettI have to confess to reading the last page first. I never could wait as a child for Christmas either - I'm the one who would unwrap the gifts under the tree - all of them! Not just mine!

I have now read the details on page 69 -COVID! What's the chances, except, there you are.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lucy MartinThanks for sharing, John. I enjoyed following along. I appreciate your candor and applaud your stamina—you guys did some long days with big miles.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettThanks for checking our ride out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Susan JamesI disagree with the Chinese food being bad in Cambridge. I actually thought it was one of the best renditions I've had of American-Chinese meals. In fact it was actually closer to the real stuff I had in Beijing.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettCorey liked it too. I did not like Chinese food to begin with. The only other choice was a Mexican place and I still had that nasty Cañon Ciry burrito on my mind, so we had Chinese
Reply to this comment
1 year ago