Day 61 - Portland, Oregon - Bike Tour 2022 - St Louis to Oregon - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2022

Day 61 - Portland, Oregon

The tour ends when you surrender your bike to the shipping gods

The day began with coffee and granola in the hostel cafe. Afterward Corey packed up all his cares and woes and took off for a nostalgia tour of Portland (he has a daughter who attended Reed College) and then head to the Amtrak station. We confirmed last night that his bike tools will remove his pedals, essential for boxing his bike.

This morning I rode a half mile to West End Bikes and turned over The Mule for shipping. West End shipped The Mule home in 2018 and it arrived intact.

Corey and I shared a room last night with a bike tourist who just did a loop ride in western and central Oregon. He’s now headed north. He wasn’t exactly chatty but that’s okay.

I’m killing time here at the hostel. My flight leaves tomorrow afternoon which should give me plenty of time to chill. (I hate to bring this up since it's brutally hot back home but it’s actually kind of cold here.)

As far as bicycling goes, the tour is now officially over. Thanks to everyone who read these blog posts. Your encouragement of my insane little adventure is most appreciated.

In the coming weeks I will convert these blog posts into a proper journal on Cycleblaze.com when I get the time. (Done!)

I’ll also post a few more entries reflecting on the tour.

Today's ride: 1 mile (2 km)
Total: 3,457 miles (5,564 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0