Day 37 - Grant Village Campground, Wyoming to West Yellowstone, Montana - Bike Tour 2022 - St Louis to Oregon - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2022

Day 37 - Grant Village Campground, Wyoming to West Yellowstone, Montana

The crowds of tourists return

The Lake House restaurant overlooks Yellowstone Lake. It’s a tad pricey but they make a mean spinach ravioli. Corey and Mark report that the bison burgers were pretty tasty too. Breakfast was a buffet. I ate all the Cheerios and some eggs and sausage.

In between meals I froze in my tent. Message to self: choose your sleeping bag for the most extreme conditions. Mine is rated to 55 degrees. I add a bag liner that brings the rating down to perhaps 50 degrees. I bought a fleece throw at the Grant Village store. It helped some but I sleep poorly in a tent anyway. Suffice it to say, today was the second day that my riding suffered because of sleep deprivation.

We broke camp and started to climb over the Continental Divide. It wasn’t particularly hard. Oddly after climbing to the divide we continued going up.

This was followed by a plunge and another climb to the divide. The last 40 miles or so were downhill. Thank you Jesus.

The scenery and the weather couldn’t be beat. Rock formations, deep blue streams with rapids, mountain meadows, geothermal wonders.

We stopped at Old Faithful and saw it do its thing. Today the tourists were back in force. Every geothermal site was mobbed. I’ve seen them all before so there was no need to stop. I was actually enjoying the rivers and streams and woodlands at 13 mph.

I saw two bison today. One was at the Old Faithful complex, just grazing near a bike path. The other was along the road. A car had stopped to check it out causing a back up on the opposite side of the road from me. A park ranger pulled up behind me and used a bullhorn to tell the driver to move along. (There are signs every mile telling drivers not to stop in the roadway to gawk.)

One Divide conquered
Heart 0 Comment 0
And another
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very fun family we met from the mountains of North Carolina, traveling across the country in a old bus
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thar she blows
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bison munching
Heart 0 Comment 0
I could have taken hundreds of pictures like this today
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bye, Wyoming. Hello, old friend
Heart 0 Comment 0
CaptionCutAdd line aboveAdd line belowDelete
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lewis River canyon (from yesterday)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lewis River near the top of the canyon (from yesterday)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yesterday’s Divide crossing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scott and Sarah with their awesome coupled DaVinci tandem
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn’t do a selfie at either park entrance so I posed with the pamphlets
Heart 0 Comment 0
CaptionCutAdd line aboveAdd line belowDelete
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 1,998 miles (3,215 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0