An Unplanned Day in Portland - Bike Tour 2022 - St Louis to Oregon - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2022

An Unplanned Day in Portland

About an hour before I was going to call for a cab to take me to the airport, Southwest Airlines informed me that my flight had been cancelled.

Lovely.

They rebooked me on a series of three flights, the first of which leaves Portland at 5:35 am tomorrow. After checking for alternatives, I decided to go with the flow and extended my stay at the hostel, and booked a cab for 3:15 am.

My flights are Portland to Denver, Denver to Dallas, Dallas to Washington National. I would guess that my probability of arriving at home tomorrow is no better than 25 percent. Hence I am doing laundry to feel somewhat productive.

I should point out that Southwest has been unable to provide any guidance except for the new booking. They didn’t answer their phone (I waited an hour on hold), their online chat was useless, and their email response told me they’d get back to me within ten days.

I am hoping to get reimbursed for my additional lodging costs.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0