One way to end a bike tour, not the preferable one: Garmisch Partenkirchen to just outside Mittenwald - Poking Around Europe 3.0 - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2016

One way to end a bike tour, not the preferable one: Garmisch Partenkirchen to just outside Mittenwald

We had a good start to the day, leaving our B and B at our usual 9:30 AM. The weather was great. We started with a long hill out of GP. It was amazing how quickly the mountain we had hiked yesterday receded in the distance. It was about a 4 km hill with a 7% grade and we both talked about how fit we were getting. Hills really are your friends.

This ski jump was a pretty impressive sight.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful fields dotted with these little huts.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very happy me climbing the hill out of Garmisch Partenkirchen. I love bike touring.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride was easy to navigate and the chief navigator was doing a great job. We stopped often to take pictures and just drink in the views.

Our mountain receding to in the distance.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A pretty, pretty ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This funny little tractor buzzed by us with a friendly wave.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coming into a pretty little village. These spots are full of Gasthaus' and holiday home rentals. We see all kinds of people hiking or day tripping by bike in the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We swung off the bike path and met two lovely couples who were out for the day on their mighty fine e bikes. We were so enjoying the day.

Keith had to duck to get through here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the incredible pleasures of bike touring is the people you meet. Aren't those terrific e bikes?
Heart 0 Comment 0
An inukshuk on the Isar!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rare picture of the two of us taken by our new friends.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was shortly after that picture was taken that I hit a patch of gravel, at speed, and lost control of my bike. I went down hard. There were two trail angels who were out walking and were such a tremendous help and so incredibly kind. I didn't realize how badly hurt I was...I thought given a minute and a band aid I could carry on...but that delusion only lasted about a minute. Jurgen and Marion we don't know how to express our thanks enough. I get quite emotional thinking about it. I was in so much pain and Jurgen braced me and let me lie down against him. It gave me some relief. Poor Keith kept saying "I should be doing that" but I wasn't about to move from where I was. Actually, I couldn't have.

Marion was so sweet and kind and talked to me and kept me calm. They called the ambulance for us, and as I was taken away they were helping Keith with the bikes, which are now at their house. They even gave Keith a ride into Garmisch.

So, I am blogging from the Garmisch Partenkirchen hospital. I have a fractured humerus which requires surgery, a fractured pelvis which is stable and does not require further treatment, stitches over my right eye and road rash. Damn.

My first ambulance ride. Jurgen and Marion with my bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here they are with Marion's parents. They gave Keith lunch and are storing the bikes while we figure out what to do next.
Heart 0 Comment 0
About to get my eyelid put back together. I will need new bike clothes when I get home. They had to cut them off. I protested when he got to my bike shorts -they are brand new - first time I had worn them. The orderly pointed out they were already shredded from the fall. Well, okay then, cut away.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room. Great internet by the way!
Heart 0 Comment 0

So here we are. The doctors and all hospital staff have been consistently fantastic. There have been some pretty funny moments with the German English thing, but that isn't good as laughing hurts. I am able to walk with remarkably little discomfort, although the nurse reminds me I am on pretty heavy duty painkillers.

We won't make any plans until after the surgery. I am just so grateful it wasn't worse, and that I wear a helmet. My head smacked the ground pretty hard.

View from my room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And to leave things on a positive note, Keith met this fellow while checking a few things at reception and is playing hockey Monday night in the Garmisch Partenkirchen Olympic rink. How cool is that?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once we have plans for the bikes and ourselves I will post another entry, but, obviously, the biking portion of this tour is done. We are both trying to remain positive and upbeat...that always makes things easier, but I am pretty blue.

Today's ride: 24 km (15 miles)
Total: 973 km (604 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0