Back on the flat, but a bit of an up and down day: Kandel to Speyer to Walldorf - Poking Around Europe 3.0 - CycleBlaze

September 3, 2016

Back on the flat, but a bit of an up and down day: Kandel to Speyer to Walldorf

Today was an up and down day for the Go This Way, despite an almost flat ride. We were heading east, as we are planning to ride the Neckar River tomorrow, to hook up with the Romantic Road and begin our trek south. At least I think that is what we are doing. The Chief Navigator and his trusty Galileo app was our guide. I really don't like not having a map. This is very, very silly, because I can get all twisted around even when I do have a map, but I like having some idea where I am in time and space. Sometimes today I knew where I was...oh, look, the Rhine...and sometimes I felt like we were going in circles. The CN did NOT tell me I was being very patient today!

We left Kandel without any drama, but somewhere in all those little villages we got turned around. All the stopping and starting is time consuming but even so, before long we were on Eurovelo 15, cruising the Rhine and it was bliss. Just flat straightforward riding with lots to look at.

We would rather be up here than down there, even with navigational snafus.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I named him Oreo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bike path!! A big wide one with lots of day trippers, tourers and even a few of the spandex set. It felt so good to fire on all cylinders and just go.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were views.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And there was food. Unfortunately I didn't have any. Keith did. You know where this is going, don't you? I wasn't hungry yet. That came later.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We even saw a parade of my favourite barges. I was loving bike touring at this point.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Very shortly after the barge parade, when I thought we were going to blissfully follow the Rhine for hours, we came across the dreaded umleitung sign. We spoke with Alfred who reassured us that we would be fine, but we managed to blow it. Actually, I did. Keith wanted to turn left, I saw a bike come from beside the river and thought we could get through that way and the next thing we knew we were heading into town, the wrong way. Keith straightened us out eventually but I didn't get anything to eat...just saying.

Really??
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alfred, it was great chatting with you. Thanks for the help!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just an added detail about our adventure. It was hot. I should add here that the CN didn't feel lost at all. I was just letting heat and hunger get to me. His ability to navigate astonishes me.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We made it to Speyer and I headed to the nearest bakery. I felt like a new person. Speyer was just great. We toured the cathedral and poked our way up the main Strasse, which of course is car free. It was a great break in the day. We really enjoyed it.

How did they land this plane on the building? This was the technical museum. It looked very, very interesting. We passed it on the way into town.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Speyer is a pretty city. We almost didn't go in...it was a couple km off route. We are so glad we did.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The door to the cathedral. The spires were spectacular. There are four of them, and seeing them from the bike path was what made us decide to go take a look.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very vibrant downtown.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The bikes resting while I fuelled up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love pedestrian zones. Bikes are allowed as well, and it just all works. Everyone seems to ride a bike here, so people just look out for each other.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love this picture. It says it all.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here is another one.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Keith had checked out a hotel in Walldorf and off we went, and this is where it really got confusing for me, and the CN had to do some pretty heavy duty navigating. At one point I waited so long I think I fell asleep standing up, but the proof about how hard Keith was working is in the next photo.

He had been focused on his iPhone for ages, announced we were ready to go, I looked at him, and yes, he seriously had put his helmet on backwards.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From that point on it was smooth rolling to the hotel, which has a pool. We both had a swim and a nap and are now drinking wine and laughing about the day.

Today's ride: 77 km (48 miles)
Total: 346 km (215 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0