Day 1: Salinas to Monterey - The worst hard times, and other stuff - Big Sur, bien sûr! - CycleBlaze

April 4, 2012

Day 1: Salinas to Monterey - The worst hard times, and other stuff

I have decided that there is only one thing I don't like about bike trips, aside from them ending of course, and that is the getting ready for them.

Criminy! So many little things to remember. Arm warmers, gloves of various warmth, socks of various warmth, tubes, electronic gadgets, plugs for gadgets, sunglasses.....and now, because I'm old, reading glasses!

It's so easy when you can just ride out of your house with everything assembled, but catching a plane, or bus, or for this trip, an early morning train, just makes it stressful.

The only thing that relieves the stress of that is that once you are on the plane, bus or train you can relax. Everything is there, and if it's not then you just deal with it as a reality instead of a, what if don't have it, do I have it, I better look again.... I think its the thinking of it all that is the issue.

Still, aside from that the events of the day went fairly smooth. Except that the Amtrak train was slow as molasses through the Bay Area, the trip south was nice. I even got a window seat!

Though a bit chilly for my tastes, the sun was out and it was beautiful because of it, and the weather is supposed to warm starting tomorrow.

The Trucker was flawless in her first attempt at weight carrying, the truest test. I felt so good overall that I didn't even mind pushing a headwind most of the day.

Tomorrow I continue south. Hopefully it will warm just a tad.

I took this train to Salinas. Okay, it wasn't really THIS train, it just felt like it at times.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Monterey Harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't know about you, but I think that's a nice looking tree!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Monterey surfers
Heart 0 Comment 0
Monterey Harbor
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eeeeeeooooow But it is a bargain!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Now THIS was delicoius! I asked around and found a place the locals go to. Crab cakes. YUM!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Isn't nature great
Heart 2 Comment 0
HMMMM? What's in YOUR strawberries?!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 42 miles (68 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0