A Hard Day's Night - Big Sur, bien sûr! - CycleBlaze

April 6, 2012

A Hard Day's Night

...first, let me say that in order to be accurate, I feel that I must be forthcoming in all matters, or at least MOST matters, and this is a matter that can't be left untold if the story is to maintain it's continuity down the line.

I crawled into my tent a little after sunset, a bit more bundled up than normal. I was trying my summer bag (that I bought for last year's France trip) for the first time in colder weather (low 40's high 30's F at night). Still, it is rated at 30 degrees. It would be fine.

Except I couldn't sleep. I couldn't get comfortable. I didn't feel hugely cold except I started to shiver, not all of me, mostly my legs, which was weird. Was I hypothermic?

I also started to feel nauseous, but not overly so. I thought back to my "Wilderness Volunteer" back country survival training. Was nausea a symptom of hypothermia. I couldn't remember.  Oooooh! Why didn't I pay more attention in class?!

Except I wasn't THAT cold, but I was shivering, again, my legs mostly, and I just couldn't get comfortable. I know I just repeated myself but it needs to be emphasized.

It was still early. I better do something.  I thought, What if I don't say anything and it is hypothermia and I die right here in my tent because I wait too long, because I don't want to wake anyone, because I would feel worse about waking anyone than, you know, actually dying? What is more annoying, I wondered? I'm thinking for them, the former, but for me, the later.

Anyway, I could see the campground host was up, and in his giant camper with a generator, so I went over.

"I'm sorry to bother you, but I feel kind of hypothermic, or something, I don't really know? Do you have an extra blanket?" 

He did, and produced a brand new comforter. That would surly do it.

I crawled under my down bag AND borrowed comforter. My legs were STILL shivering! I tried to get comfortable, until about 20 minutes later, and, uuuuuuh, oooooooooooh...

....I jumped out of my tent and, how shall I put this, proceeded to "deposit" my backpacker pasta meal and smoked salmon dinner out in the direction of the sea, only not that far really, but in that direction, due west, to be sure.

It's funny the things that go through your mind at a time like that. What I was thinking mostly was, "I bummed all of that water from people who had a limited supply themselves. I feel like I should go apologize." But what would I say? "Um, I'm sorry to tell you this but your water is over there in the bushes by my campsite, unused, or at least only partially used..." I decided it was probably better kept to myself.

After, well, you know, I sat back in the grass and felt immediately better. I crawled back under my sleeping bag and borrowed comforter and within minutes the shivering stopped. Maybe I wasn't hypothermic after all?

I fell asleep almost immediately and slept for what seemed like an hour. When I woke up I drank some water had a couple squares of chocolate and proceeded to sleep until almost 8:00am, which, under the circumstances, was the crack of dawn, or at least felt like it.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0