My legs are tight today! - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 21, 2021

My legs are tight today!

Jacinto's route included Saguaro Park East.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is my out and back route. It included my two favorite areas of the loop - Harrison Greenway and Julian Wash.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I can tell I took two weeks off riding. Despite stretching and walking to dinner last night, my legs are tight this morning. As I stretched this morning, I was happy I brought along a yoga mat. 

I was awake before 8 AM. I did not spend any time on the computer, and really did try to keep moving forward. Despite that, I wasn't out the door until 10:30 AM. Where did the time go? Oh well, I am on vacation!

It was overcast this morning, but warm. 57 degrees when I started, and 73 at the finish. Rain is in the forecast for later in the week. We shall see how it goes.

We have secured an invitation for Christmas dinner. Jan is making Chiles en Nogado. Jacinto isn't allowed to laugh at her Mexican cooking. He doesn't laugh at any cooking at all! He's an equal opportunity eater. Except for eggplant. That's a non starter . . .  our assignment is to bring dessert. I'm thinking Cheesecake Factory. Jacinto says WalMart has cheesecake. Which brought on a big discussion about quality. He said he supposes it's like the conversation we had about bakery donuts vs grocery store donuts. YES! Exactly like that conversation. Jacinto grew up poor and often hungry. For him food is about quantity, not quality. Understand Poverty by Ruby Payne is an easy to read book. It lists the tiers of food security - Quantity, quality, and presentation. I think our household will never reach the presentation level - fancy food is hardly ever in sufficient quantity for these hungry cyclists!

I fixed an egg scramble this morning that Harpo would be proud of - onion, zucchini, and breakfast sausage. I supplemented with steel cut oatmeal/craisins/pecans. Surely that will be enough food to get me 44 miles down the road and back? I've been trying to eat more in the morning, so I don't eat as much while riding, or arrive back home starving. I think Jacinto is correct - you have to be awake long enough in the morning to get hungry. It's difficult to eat a big meal when I'm  not hungry.

I was out the door at 10:30, heading east this time. I had another out and back ride, to the Roy Schoonover Trailhead. This ride would take in my two favorite sections of the path - Harrison Greenway and Julian Wash.

I wanted to let you know that I'm still happy about having my own ice cube tray with me. It makes four long, skinny cubes at a time. The better to fit in my water bottles. The silliest things make me happy. At least I'm a cheap date!

I still don't think there are too many people on the path. Maybe between Christmas and New Years? The first year we came here the people watching was excellent (lots of traffic). That can be seen as a positive and a negative. 

Today I was distracted by riding with Edna. More on that later. I saw two Elliptigos. Maybe 10-15 trikes. The best sighting I had was a group of ~10 bikes together - diamond frames, recumbents, and trikes. All were decked out in Christmas finery - decorated helmets,  bikes, and clothes. I couldn't take it all in fast enough - trying to look at the Christmas theme and also the types of bikes. Unfortunately they were past far too quickly. There were two cute dogs on bikes set ups. Both little terriers in baskets. One lady was walking, pulling a trailer with two dogs, and walking one more.

I made my first stop at the convenient bathroom, ten miles in. I was riding gradually uphill, but felt good about my 11-12 mph average. There was the slightest headwind. It was a grand riding day! 

I had a ridewithgps route going, to remind me where to turn. But I mostly remembered where to go, and had no stress. The Rita Road section seemed longer than I remembered. It is 1.5 miles long. When I turned onto Julian Wash, I stopped and got a banana out of my bag. It's been in there a couple of days. Best to eat it before I have banana mush. I was quickly to my turn around point at the bathroom. I saw a trike parked out front. I admired the floral bags. Upon closer inspection, I recognized the ERRC embroidery! These bags are significant! I hung around, waiting for the owner to appear. I'd hate to be in the bathroom and miss my chance to learn the details on the bags. 

A woman came out of the restroom. "Hello, Kelly!" uh . . .  hello? It turned out to be Edna VanGundy, whom I "know" from the internet, but had met only once in person, last year. We discovered that we were heading the same direction and decided to ride together. We rode the entire distance back to Dodge Street. That made the last half of my ride go in no time at all. Edna has a HP Velotechic Gekko, with a motor. She was willing to go at my sedate speed. I was happy that our route was mostly downhill. Edna was putting some miles in so she would be ready to ride the entire loop with friends when they arrive next month. 

We chatted about everything and everything! It was a fun ride. I think we will be getting together again. 

I felt accomplished, finally, I could be the leader who knew where to go and what turns to take. Dave had dropped Edna off at the trailhead to ride the long way back to their trailer at the Prince of Tucson campground where they are wintering.  She hadn't ridden the majority of this side of the loop. Edna did have a paper map to help her get back to the campground. She must be better at directions than me. I like having ridewithgps give me verbal cues, it takes the stress off of knowing where I'm going!

When I arrived back at the apartment, the key was in the cinderblock. Today I would have a chance to get the journal up before dinner. Maybe even a shower too! 

Jacinto sent me a live tracking from ridewithgps. I seem to have trouble seeing it while I'm riding. But once I turn off my ride, then I can see his.

He had a good ride. It included going through  Saguaro Park East. He said there was a Backroads van in there with a group of riders.  He's in the shower now. Then we are going to eat.

Our key is hidden in the decorative cinder block.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The reward for our first day! Blue Bell still serves a full half gallon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I just noticed the details on the photo. Plenty of Mexican beers. Plus, tacos!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Your specialty chicken feed store.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This might have been a bicycle shop, but isn’t now.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My first potty break. This is where I was flashed last year. It was memorable for the wrong reasons!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I like the road runners at the top of their gate. Plus the Christmas decorations.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Edna VanGundy has perfect condition vintage ERRC panniers. She also has a very cool carbon (?) helmet visor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There was infrequent enough traffic, I could take up the whole path for a photo opp
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bill- I was trying to be artsy here and covered up the whole plant. I think it might be agave, Jacinto says not. I like how large the plants get.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltYou are correct, however, Jacinto may know it by one of its other common names.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Agave_americana
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
The side of the chicken feed store. Seen on the return.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto's route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto’s route from Saguaro Park East.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another view.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI'm always struck by how purple those staghorn chollas are!

https://www.americansouthwest.net/plants/cacti/cylindropuntia-versicolor.html
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
One more view.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ginny took this photo of me yesterday. Wearing shorts, in December!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 87 miles (140 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Michael GrimesBack in the day I had the ERRC panniers, both sizes. The larger size was called LLOONNGG. All have since been sold as have my Easy Racers bikes. Kind of sad.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago