Merry Christmas! - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 25, 2021

Merry Christmas!

Jacinto's day ended with two flat tires and him hitch hiking back to the van, in deference to our dinner plans with friends.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My route.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Because I've set a mileage goal for the trip, AND I took yesterday off in the rain, I needed to put some miles in today. My personal favorite was to ride The Loop again. 56 miles and done. I love that one. But, Jacinto's been encouraging me to expand my horizons. I routed a southern route, which encompassed a piece of Sahuarita Highway. That was a favorite of mine on the last tour. It also included riding seven miles down busy Alvernon Highway. I resolved to leave early. Town should be fairly traffic free Christmas morning? Jacinto assured me that he's ridden Alvernon both directions and it has a good bike lane. 

It's good to get out of my box. I'm perfectly capable of exploring around town. I shouldn't stay in my so, so comfortable zone of riding The Loop. I do love to ride on the path. Look at me, riding two days in a row on roads.

I was out the door at 8:30. There was little action around. Traffic was light. I was caught at many stop lights. Me, and hardly anyone else. But, we sat and waiting for the lights to change. 

There was a mystery route around from Alvernon to Palo Verde. The road surface went from smooth to very rough and cracked. I wondered why this was the preferred route for cyclists? I thought it would take me under the interstate, but it didn't. One of the little mysteries.

I was happy to get on the bike path at Julian Wash. I turned off my blinkies when I stopped at one of my favorite potties on Alvernon Way. OK, I'm ticking down the miles. Let's keep rolling! I ate a banana to keep the body happy.

The weather today was overcast with rain in the forecast. I brought a raincoat, just in case. I also wore tights. It was 55 degrees when I left. At this moment, the sky in front of me looked threatening. But to my left there was blue sky.

My time on the path was too short. I took a turn south on Wilmont. Jacinto has also said this was a good surface, but I wasn't impressed to start. It was very dirty and went through a lot of glass that I couldn't avoid because of traffic. If I don't get a flat, it will be a wonder.

After the federal and state prisons, the road surface changed to a new surface with a shoulder. Ah! This must be the part Jacinto remembered.

I was on Wilmont all the way south to Sahuarita Highway. I knew that would be an uphill slog, because I had previously enjoyed swooping into town. Yep, uphill it is. This is a good place to enjoy the extra energy from my daily apple.

I saw one other cyclist here. I saw several cyclists on this road my last time through.  

I was happy to reach the end of the climb on Sahuarita Road. The first half of my ride was all climbing, the second half, all descending.

My memory of Houghton Road was more favorable than today's impression. Today, the poor pavement and cracks stood out. There was significant road construction around the high school, with Jersey barriers. Luckily, all construction was shut down.

I soon reached the huge intersection at I-10 and Houghton. Having navigated this last month, I knew what to expect. A group of four cyclists came up on me as I entered the bike path. The first three ignored more. Only the last woman said something, a favorable comment about my comfy set up.

I was feeling great today. No lead legs. Perhaps a day off was just what I needed. Or, maybe a route with an obvious downhill for the second half is the secret!

Once I passed the Rita Road section, I turned off both of my taillights. At the sharp turn onto the path, I met an electric bike rider, who apologized for not allowing me to use his side of the path to turn. Absolutely no problem. We chatted a minuted about how he also had his water bottles on the handlebars and that his had ceramic liners that gave no taste. His are filled with grapefruit slices and water, chilled in the fridge overnight. It was a pleasant encounter, but the man sheepishly apologized for talking too much. He said it was the coffee talking.

I was really pedaling on the Harrison Greenway downhill. As AD Carson would say, "I was kicking my  horse". I averaged in the range of 15 mph all the way back home. Look at me go! I glanced longingly at the taco truck spot on 22nd Street. It will be empty until Tuesday. I asked. 

My ride came to a pleasantly quick ending at that speed.  I did the getting back to town things. I tried to decide what to eat so I wouldn't be famished, but would still be hungry for dinner at 5 PM. I was plenty early, I had time to shower, and relax.

Jacinto came in at 4 PM. He had a more eventful day. Jacinto parked at the East Saguaro Park to start his ride. Who should recognize him there but Rachael Anderson! They were also starting from the park. They didn't talk long, with intended rides. Isn't it odd, in this large city, how we've run into the Andersons' twice now. I also saw Edna. 

Jacinto was watching the clock, wanting to be back on time. He cut out the Pistol Hill Road loop, in the interest of time. Which was a good thing, as he had not one, but two flat tires. The first one was caused by a staple. The second flat, he didn't even look, he just stuck his thumb out. 

Jacinto says a man in a Forerunner picked him up. The man had a bike rack, but Jacinto's bike didn't fit because of the fenders. Instead they put the bike inside.

We were running right on time for our 5 PM dinner, and were about 15 minutes into our drive, when I realized I had forgotten the Cheesecake Factory cheesecake on the counter at home. Jacinto was not happy about turning around to go back for it. That made us late. We missed the sunset from Jan's patio. Dinner was amazing. We were appreciative of the invitation and fine food.

We are now back at the apartment, with clothes in the washer. I think it's been a fine Christmas. The man with the flat tire is slightly less happy. 

Unique decorations.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seen at the same spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 245 miles (394 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
jerry witherspoonInquiring minds want to know: When Jacinto hitched a ride, what kind of vehicle offered him a ride that would take him as well as his bike?

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonJacinto says a man in a Forerunner picked him up. The man had a bike rack, but Jacinto's bike didn't fit because of the fenders. Instead they put the bike inside.

I've added that to the journal page also.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago