Freezing in Tucson - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 27, 2021

Freezing in Tucson

Heart 0 Comment 0
This should go on yesterday, but it won’t load there. Rebecca and her dog, Lilly.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had the forethought to put on a vest today. I was always on the edge off too cold, but not cold enough to get my coat out. A Buff would have been a good idea. There were far more walkers today than cyclists. I saw a handful of trikes and no two wheeled bents. Today there seemed to be many riders with front while lights. I don’t know if they were easier to spot because of the overcast sky?

I was so intent on getting back today, I didn’t even eat my apple. But, I did stretch my legs!

The one photo I took today would load here. Yesterday’s photos still won’t load. I don’t know why. 

Jacinto didn’t ride. It was too un inviting. He went to the gym and for a walk. I hope he comes back. 

Later - he did make it back. His assessment of the neighborhood is that the houses are mostly nice, but there are several hundred apartments in large buildings. 

We went to dinner at Texas Roadhouse. We ate at the bar because we could be seated immediately. Service was poor, the food took a long time to arrive, and it wasn't tasty. Plus, the man to my left kept coughing. If I get sick - I'm placing my bets on him. It's interesting the number of people waiting outside who had masks on. Close quarters inside seemed like throwing caution to the wind, and not acceptable for those who wear masks. 

We are back at the house. Jacinto has coffee perking. Maybe that will warm me up. I'm still cold. I should have gotten that coat out. 

My one photo today. Someone with their bicycle in the bathroom with them. My bicycle will not fit!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Mike Ayling You don't want any low life riding away with it while you are otherwise occupied!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 346 miles (557 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 5
jerry witherspoonHi Lucky. It was 45 degrees here in KC today, with strong Nwesterly winds. Four of us (spoon, Nellie, Russ and Jim) braved the tough conditions and rode our 30 miles anyway. You ain’t freezing!!!!

spoon
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo jerry witherspoonSpoon,

I just talked to Oren - it's in the 70's in Arkansas. We are in the wrong state!
I took a hot, hot shower and am now on the couch with my coat and a doubled up blanket. I should have stopped for my jacket, but I kept thinking if I pedaled faster, I'd warm up!

Good for you guys on powering through. I no longer like riding in the cold. Those days are gone!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonIt was cold! Congrats on getting your miles in anyway. And let us know if Jacinto makes it back - we’re getting worried about him.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Scott AndersonIt is cold in British Columbia, not where you are!! These things are all relative of course. The folks in Alberta know we don’t get real cold. It is currently -28 C in Calgary 🥶. A balmy -32 C in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Still we are setting records here and the hummingbird feeders are freezing solid, so must be regularly brought in. It was -9 C overnight. Snow too. We usually don’t like it when the rest of the country misplaces their snow, but this year it arrived December 25th, so that was lovely timing. Enjoying your blogs very much.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Kathleen ClassenCold is definitely relative to where you are! At home in Colorado it has been snowing for a couple of days, with lows at night around zero. I have to say, I'm not sorry to be missing out on the snow shoveling!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago