A three leg ride - My Bicycling Bliss - CycleBlaze

December 26, 2021

A three leg ride

Jacinto's ride. He says the little circle at the top had good climbing.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Scott AndersonHow funny. He and I rode nearly the same ride today. It was almost exactly the same except that I came back to town along the Santa Cruz instead of Skyline. He’s right - that northern loop through Rancho Vistoso is really nice. You should try it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettHow many miles was Jacinto's route? We agree that the loop through Rancho Vistoso/Sun City is very nice. Lots of cyclists do it and we usually ride several versions of it while camped at Catalina SP since it's so close. But don't try to take the La Canada trail north! It looks like it continues north of Tangerine but does dead end and turns to gravel. We always get on the road when the trail comes to Tangerine - it's by the hospital, north of the big shopping center.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
My ride
Heart 0 Comment 0

I absolutely can't get photos to load. I have a good connection. I don't understand. I'll try again later.

Does anyone here use slime or a similar sealant in their tubes? We rode with Hank here in Arizona last Thanksgiving. He is a big Slime proponent. Hank likes to inject the slime himself over buying the tubes pre-slimmed. Hank says the sealant can get old and dry out if you buy the tubes ready to go. Since we've had a few flat tires in Arizona, thanks to mesquite thorns, we were interested in the Slime conversation. We did go against Hank's recommendation and bought one of the sealant infused tubes. Jacinto installed it on his bike this morning. While discussing Slime with other riders, Jim said he was not in favor of Slime because it can mess with the rotation of the tire, being a liquid. My memory isn't good enough to help me articulate what Jim said, but it made sense. Still, we did buy one tube. Jacinto installed it today. Going down the road he could hear/feel a thump. He felt there was a bulge in the tire, as if he hadn't seated the tire properly before inflation. He let the air out, and tried again. Same problem. He let the air out once more, checked the bead all the way around, and reinflated. It still wasn't right, but he was ready to ride, and went. When he got back, he had me lift the rear of the bike up while he pedaled. Yes, I could definitely feel a rotational thump. But that isn't the correct word, as no two parks were making a noise. Personally, I'm remembering what Hank said and wonder if the sealant isn't clumped up in the tube. Jacinto didn't think it was, but he said his ride wasn't enjoyable today because of the rear tire.

That's all a big back story to ask if anyone has an opinion. Jacinto did stop buy a shop that was open. They didn't have tubes or tires for 650B. They didn't have tire liners either, which seem like they'd be popular in this thorny area.

As for the day's ride. I picked out a full on bike path ride today. I was very happy, after two days of mostly road riding. I went from here, up Canada del Oro until I hit 20 miles. Then I turned around. This still isn't my favorite path. It's too skinny and busy for too long. That's a problem with my big bike. The upper end is nice, it's out in the open, and the path is much wider. 

I had stopped at the Ted Walker Park to use the restroom. A man pulled up in a white car, and asked me if this was a safe place to park. I told him I would leave me car there, I stop regularly, and never see anyone sketchy around. Week days, the maintenance facility has workers there. That might be discouraging to inappropriate activities. I chatted with the man a bit about cool temperatures, and appropriate dress.

That is pertinent as I thought I saw the man riding towards me as I went downhill on the Canada. No! It wasn't the friendly guy, it was Scott Anderson! I didn't recognize him to start. Then we passed before I could react. It didn't look as if he stopped, so I kept going. I kept looking for Rachael, but never did see her.

I stopped at Ted Walker Park again. This is a fine, quite bathroom. Next up was the path to Marana. Today was going quickly, divided into chunks. Finally, the clouds had broken and it warmed up. It was 61 degrees when Jacinto left. 

The out and back to Marana went quickly, 9 miles each way. I stopped for a third time at Ted Walker Park on the subsequent return. Perhaps I should start furnishing my own toilet paper, I'm such a frequent visitor! There was a man sitting in a white car - me, being, me - I thought it was the same man. I started chatting away, like our conversation had just been interrupted. Gradually it dawned on me. This is not the same man . . he was polite though. I had a different conversation with a man in a white car. Small town people, they'll talk to anyone!

OK - 12.5 miles back. Uphill. It won't be as fun as my downhill run last night, but I'm ready to knock it out. 

I've been taking Ginny's suggested turn on La Cholla, it is a smoother transition from one side of the wash to the other. Another plus is that the sharp turns are less sharp here. I can make the transitions without getting off my bike.

Just as I approached my final turn on Dodge, I was passed by a woman on an orange trike with a terrier dog in a side bag. Edna? Is that you? I know she takes her dog on her trike. This woman greeted me, but kept going. She had a motor on the trike, I wasn't likely to catch her. I sure would like a photo of her cute dog. I've seen very few dog/bike set ups this trip.

There was a small traffic jam, slowing the lady. I was able to catch her and ask if I could take a photo. Rebecca has been taking Lily on the trike for 8-9 years. Lily certainly seems to enjoy the ride.

I was glad to be approaching the end of the day. It was good, but another long day in a row. 

I gave you the giant report on Jacinto's tube/tire. He didn't have much to say about the ride. The little circle at the top had good climbing. That was about what he had to say.

We are going now to eat at Filiberto's = a Mexican fast food place.

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 302 miles (486 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Scott AndersonWe slimed our tires on our first tour in Arizona back in 2016. After two flat tires on our way to Tombstone we dropped down Charleston Road to Sierra Vista to get slimed because it was the only bike store in the region. They slimed the tires for us, and it worked great. No rolling issues, and we didn’t have another flat on the rest of the tour.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Gregory GarceauI hope you figure out that picture uploading problem. And how about that Scott Anderson totally ignoring you? What a snob! (I feel I can say that because Scott and I trade on-line barbs quite often. Plus, I've met him and Rocky a couple times and they are cool people.)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Gregory GarceauI have no idea what is up with the photo problem. That one day, nothing will load. Even if I try them one day at a time. I was suspecting my old phone, but today I had no trouble . . . who knows?

I'm going to feel really bad if that's the last time I see Scott while we are all in town. I've run into them twice by accident, and they've seen Jacinto once. Pretty amazing, for how big of a place Tucson is!

Kelly
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauHey!! I didn’t ignore Kelly at all. If anything, it was the other way around. I was the one that spotted and shouted out to her while she steamed past, paying no attention to me because I wasn’t on a recumbent or trike. On behalf of the Diamond-frame riders of the world, I’m offended that she doesn’t notice us.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago