Layover day! - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2019

Layover day!

Today is great and I've hardly gotten out of bed. On our Utah tour we rode eight tough days before we got a day off. I was day dreaming about giving my legs a rest for days before it happened. Starting a tour unprepared isn't a good thing.

Here we are this trip with five days in and a day off. It's a pleasant surprise. Unfortunately, I think I'm coming down with a bug. I woke up in the wee hours with that back of the throat feeling. This morning it's still there, plus the heavy head feeling from sinus issues. I will be making the trek to WalMart for products. Hopefully I can beat it back before I get too sick.

I feel slightly guilty about wasting a sunshiny day in Canada. We are hopeful that the weather will be kind for the next week as there is no weather over Vancouver to move our direction.

I have a confession to make and then I can start my day with a clear conscious. It has been pointed out that I'm using Jacinto as a sherpa. No wonder I can claim ten pounds of gear on my bike when he carries all of the oatmeal fixings and the bag of reserve snacks. Genny is quite sure those two bags weigh five pounds. I will admit they are heavy . . . . Genny says Jacinto would be smart to trade me the food for the computer. It weighs less. Having grown up in a poor household and gone to bed hungry far too many times, I think Jacinto likes knowing he has food available at all times. Even if it is instant oatmeal . . . I've only had oatmeal one morning this trip. I definitely notice that my energy level stays up and stays longer with a real food breakfast. Instant oatmeal, even when supplemented with nuts and raisins, lasts about two hours for me.

We've been to WalMart. I was happy to replace my Voltaren (anti-inflammatory cream) with the 2.5% Canadian version - it's over the counter here vs the 1% prescription kind in the USA. Sudafed was also OTC. I bought Zinc lozengers. Genny said zinc must be taken as a lozenger to be effective.

We spent quite a bit of time debating food items for Skookumchuck. At that point we weren't sure if convenience store food would be available. Jim and Genny bought something to carry. Jacinto said he would eat the C store food. When I got back to the room I called the motel. The lady said there is no store at all in town, the C store was closed. The closest store is in Wasa, but that is off route for us, as we intend to bicycle the rail trail to Kimberly.

The others all hit several stores, but I'd made my purchases at WalMart and headed back to the room to start medicating. It was a long enough walk all of my clothes got sweaty. I had to take a second shower and wash my off the bike clothes. That presented a problem as it was mid morning and I had no other clothes to wear. I ended up wearing my (machine washed!) bike clothes to see Stuber at the nearby multi flex. The movie is a stupid movie with some good components. The popcorn was a disappointment. The counter girl asked if we wanted ice in our drinks and gave us a scant scoop. Ice is not as appreciated in Canada as it is at home.

I'm back in the room and Jacinto's gone looking for headphones with better sound than the ones he brought with him. Our Motel 6 is on the main drag and conveniently located to everything. We got a great deal, $53. USD on a nice, modern room. Laminate flooring, new bathroom, etc. So far all of our lodging has been inexpensive and of good value. That's about to change as we head into the National Parks.

I'm feeling much better. Maybe I wasn't really sick or the meds are working.

Jacinto got his bike back. He has a new cassette and one link added to the chain to accommodate the 36 tooth. Previously he had a 32 tooth. $52. CAD

Now we know that no food is available in Skookumchuck, we need to have a food strategy. WalMart did not have meat (tuna or chicken) in foil packets. They did have canned versions. Jim and Genny both bought a can of meat and some sort of mixed bean dish in a foil bag that could be microwaved. I think Jacinto wants a burrito to carry for dinner. We need a substantial breakfast the next day as we are climbing to 58 miles Radium Hot Springs. The profile looks like lots of ups and downs with very little total gain. I'm not sure oatmeal will do the job. We can stop in Canal Flats at the restaurant on the way. Canal Flats would have been a better overnight location, we stayed there last trip through the area, but we couldn't get a reservation. Motel touring does have it's limitations. Overall we think it's worth the effort and occasional inconvenience.

I've been using the Ortlieb Gravel Panniers this tour. They are light weight (the major attraction) and are a one compartment with a roll top type bag. I like everything about them except how they fasten. I prefer the male/female ends be loose so I can grab them both to click them shut. These panniers have the female end heat welded to the pannier and it's more effort to keep ahold of that end to click them shut. They hold 25 liters and weigh 41 oz., according to the website. On the rear I have the Arkel Dry-lites which are advertised to hold 28 liters and weigh only 19 ounces. But they must be used as a set as they drape over the rear pannier. That won't work with my under seat rack.

Arkel also has the Orca roll top 25 liter pannier that weighs 48 ounces. Lone Peak (made in the USA) has the Sundance pannier. It is a zipper pannier rather than a roll top. It is 24.5 liters, but they don't list a weight on the website. Jandd has the Wet Rabbit roll top pannier that weighs 42 oz, but lists the capacity in cubic inches, 700-1,000 depending on how far you roll down the top. MEC has the World Tour pannier in a 12 liter, which I'm wondering about either the description of world tour or 12 liters as I know it, because that doesn't sound large enough. But one is 28 ounces, so 56 for the pair. Surely that's larger than 12 liters?

I've given myself the assignment of looking for lightweight panniers, but https://bikepacking.com/index/panniers-for-bikepacking/ this article gave me a headache. They list the gravel panniers as 12.5 liters each, which I suppose makes the World Tour pannier sizing more sensible. But it also throws off all of my research. I was looking for a little afternoon project, not a brain teaser, so I quit.

I do like the Arkel Dry-Lites. They don't have a backing plate, just a single hook, so there is some sway going down the road. Last year when I had shimmy issues, we discussed if the pannier sway could have contributed to the issue. I don't think it was part of the issue. Genny has the same panniers and feels she has no problem. You can't beat the capacity for the weight. Mine are virtually empty this trip, but it's nice to have the extra space.

Jacinto is looking for front panniers for the new Rodriguez Bike, that was part of the catalyst for my research. He's eyeballing my Gravel panniers, but I"m not ready to relinquish them. If you have a suggestion for a light weight, small capacity pannier, please let me know via the guestbook tab above.

The cheap lady’s version of spa day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The change in Jacinto’s pocket doesn’t jingle as usual. It’s interesting the difference is so noticeable.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0