Donald - Canyon Hot Springs, BC - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2019

Donald - Canyon Hot Springs, BC

Heart 0 Comment 0

I've written this entire post after soaking for three hours in the hot springs. I am not responsible for inaccuracies. My brain is mush.

I had another poor night of sleep. I didn't feel as if I slept at all after 4 AM, but just before 7 I woke up to an urgent knock on our door. I thought Genny had forgotten some coffee related item, but she desperately needed to use our bathroom.

I had an hour to get ready before our planned 8 AM departure. We didn't end up leaving until 8:30 as Jim had to go to the office for a plunger. Then he stopped back by for ice. I always want ice in my water, but the past few days have been chilly enough to skip ice. I was sad to ride again this morning in tights, etc. The forecast said no rain, but all of the humidity made the air cold.

We started out assuring each other that we would take plenty of breaks and use the slow but sure method. Today was advertised to be 4,200 feet of climbing with two peaks. The second one being Rogers Pass, which is famous for being tough. Between the climb and the wet weather, the journals here make the pass sound like a real challenge.

I got behind at the start when I stopped to adjust my chain. It had come out of the idler, probably when I was changing the flat tire. I caught back up and stayed with Jim and Genny until about mile eight. Then we stopped at a potty. While Genny was inside, I said I would get a head start as I was pokey getting down the road. I was quite surprised that was the last I saw of them all day.

Jim and I had carefully looked at RWGPS last night and bemoaned the perfect location of Heather Mountain Lodge. It would have divided the mileages and climbs perfectly to stay at Golden, HML, and then right into Revelstoke. We noted that from the lodge to the start of Rogers Pass was ten miles, just enough for a good warm up. We also paid attention to the fact HML was at mile 19 today and agreed to give them the finger as we went by. I don't know if Jim followed through, but I did.

I was happy with the sunshine this morning. It might be cold, but sunshine does the soul good. My legs felt fine with the climbing. I wasn't drinking much water in the cold. I had three water bottles and one Gatorade bottle. At the end of the day, I had taken a few swigs of Gatorade and used 1 1/2 bottles of water. Had it been warmer, I would have gone through everything.

Traffic was heavy as has been usual the past few days. But the shoulder was good and the pavement perfect. This was a good climbing morning. I reached the bottom of the climb and dropped into the granny gear. I ate a Perpetuum Tablet and took an Anti Fatigue pill. I've been known to scoff at the performance enhancing products, but I do feel that I have an advantage when I use them. I like my old favorite, Spiz meal replacement drink, but it's just too bulky to carry on tour.

We've been going through so many construction areas, I almost forgot to mention today's. I stayed just to the right of the cones on the new pavement.

I felt the first couple of miles of the climb were the steepest. Jacinto doesn't agree with me. Maybe my legs needed to get in the groove. I was getting ready for a break when I saw the first tunnel. OK. Let's get this done. I still had quite a bit of traffic, but the tunnels were roomy and I never felt crowded. The first tunnel was immediately followed by a second long tunnel that I couldn't see the end of. Genny noted that there was a big sign saying the tunnel lighting project had just been finished in July, 2019. Perfect timing for us. I had removed my sunglasses, but there was so much light I could have left them on. The first tunnel was 7%, according to my Garmin. I was slow moving through the tunnels. I couldn't believe when I came to a third, and a fourth, and a fifth tunnel! I had no idea. Jim had said 'tunnels', plural. He was not joking. I didn't take a break at all in this area, but kept moving. By the time I got out of the last tunnel, there were perhaps a couple of miles to the top, but it wasn't as steep there.

The google car passed me going through the tunnel. I wonder how long it takes them to update google maps? I'd like to see myself riding through the tunnel. We saw the car yesterday also, in Golden.

I wasn't going to stop at the top, but decided I should put my jacket on as I didn't want to get chilled on the way down. There was construction right across the top, with a milled surface. That wasn't fun to ride on. The P-38 wouldn't have liked that at all. I was thankful once again to be riding the trusty Stratus. I was happy the milled area was short and I could enjoy the downhill. It was gradual and I didn't have to do much braking. I went along for awhile and then realized I hadn't seen any traffic on my side of the road for at least a half hour or 45 minutes. Hmmm. I didn't remember seeing them hold traffic at the construction areas. I had seen an ambulance going the other direction and at least one, possibly two helicopters overhead. I was concerned someone had an accident. I did not have any cars at all pass me then entire remaining distance to Canyon Hot Springs. It must have been a bad accident.

Jim, Genny, and Jacinto all said they rode through the tunnels after the accident occurred, car free. We all agreed we appreciated negotiating Roger Pass without car traffic. But it did have a good shoulder the entire distance. Canada has been putting significant money into their highways. We appreciate the wider shoulders and the baby's butt smooth pavement.

I saw one touring cyclist, climbing the pass as I descended. We just waved. It was spitting rain at this point. I had my rain coat on, he had shorts and a short sleeve shirt.

I was ready to get to finish the day. It doesn't seem to matter how many miles I have to ride, I'm always ready to arrive. It was a granny gear climb to the office for me. I went straight in and bought soup and a sandwich. I asked if I could check in, but my friend had made the reservation. Yes, I could check in, but they wouldn't let me go to the room. Time had changed, and it wasn't even 2 PM yet, instead of 3 PM. The clerk told me how about go to the hot springs instead. OK - but I was in my sweaty bike clothes. I think my brain wasn't quite firing right. The sign said to take a shower first. I did. Before I put on my swimsuit. What was I thinking. We all know how fun it is to pull on clothes on a wet body.

I was just getting in the pool, when I saw Jim and Genny. They had checked in and gotten a key to their room. What the heck? I would have rather gone to the room first also. Genny thinks they didn't let me in because the reservation was in their name.

I got in the hot pool, but it was too hot. I got in the cooler pool, but it was too cool. I hadn't brought my sunglasses, so had to keep my eyes closed or cover them. I relaxed floated in the pool. When was the last time I did that?

I was in the pool a long time. No one came to join me. I was hungry and thirsty and didn't want to be in the pool. Jacinto had come and gone. He came back for my bike, which was very nice. Much later I realized that he had taken my shoes also. I would have to walk to the room barefoot.

Finally the others came to the pool. They stayed about an hour. Jacinto and I stayed a few minutes more. By then I was hungry, thirsty, and needed to write the journal. We showered and bought chips and salsa to snack on. Jacinto had eaten my leftover Chinese rice. I hadn't wanted it in the morning, but I sure wanted it now. All we had left was his gas station food. I appeased my appetite with the chips and salsa. That's lasted long enough for me to write this. Now I"m hungry again. Jacinto is heating up one of those disgusting microwave burritos. I'm going to try one with salsa. Jim and Genny had a frozen pizza up at the office/cafe. They do have real ice cream up there - 8 flavors. We are going for ice cream later.

My legs feel good. Today was a nicer day than I had expected. It was unfortunately to our advantage that there was the bad accident. It did make the end of the ride traffic free for us.

While I'm in here typing this, I can hear a little girl outside quizzing Jim about how far did he ride and was he tired. She sounds very cute. Then a touring cyclist stopped by, someone from Quebec who rode from Salmon Arm. That is a long ways away - I had to map it. 84.5 miles and 5,500 feet of climbing. That would be too much for me. Jacinto saw him at the store buying an ice cream. I think he deserved a double scoop!

We were encouraged by the partial blue sky as we departed.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My true feelings.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did not see any mountain goats in the area, or domestic goats either.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cloud cover got thicker as I climbed Rogers Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought this was the top. But it was a bit further.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is our first summit sign in Canada.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We saw lush green vegetation on all sides with many areas of runoff.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The clouds pulled back enough for Jacinto to photo the peak.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Neither one of us took a tunnel photo - but Jacinto got a photo of the sign.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 515 miles (829 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0