Coeur d'Alene - Sandpoint, ID - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2019

Coeur d'Alene - Sandpoint, ID

Heart 0 Comment 0

First I have to give Jim a big thank you for going over today's route with a fine tooth comb. I thought we were headed down I-95 all day. Jim found every possible opportunity to get us on a back road. There were quite a few.

We agreed on a leisurely start today. Breakfast at 7:30 - they had microwave omelets. I can't believe I'm happy about microwave anything. We lingered over breakfast. We have a flat 49 miles today. The weather is perfect - no reason to rush. I asked if I could tag along with Jim and Genny. Bertha tells we where to go, but it's so much easier to watch Jim make the turn and have Bertha confirm that he went the correct direction.

I told Jim to give me a five minute warning text, I was ready. I did not get the five minute text, I got a knock on the door saying five minutes, but he admitted that they were heading outside. I hurried around, putting the last things in the pannier. Jacinto went outside with me and we had a photo opp. Jacinto hadn't eaten breakfast with us, instead just drinking his own, perfect, coffee. He had plenty of leftovers in the room.

Our first battle of the day was crossing the highway. Then we had to battle across Government Way, another five lane road. Government Way lasted 8 miles. Perhaps the first half was heavy city traffic, but then businesses thinned out and it was pleasant riding.

Genny has stated several times that she's very slow this year. I don't think she's too slow, because she's traveling right at my speed. I had no trouble keeping up. That was a good thing because every mile or two we switched frontage roads or back roads.

We had one piece that was an extra four miles and 500 feet of climbing. That was the only real climb of the day. Rovin Check Road was dirt . . . hmmm, do we want to give it a try? We agreed to go to the first turn and assess the situation. Moran Meadows Road looked about the same. We turned around. Later, where the diversion came out, it was a nice paved road with a center line. Who knows at what point it was paved.

We had passed up an opportunity to eat at Athol (mile 22). I think Jim and Genny would have stopped if I had been encouraging. I don't ever stop to eat. Maybe at a convenience store, just a drink and a quick snack, but not at a restaurant. By the time we hit Cocolalla, I was ready for something. A quick energy bar would have fine, but Jim had scouted out the Lake View Cafe. It had quite a few cars outside, which was promising. We went in and ordered after a delay. I checked Strava, Jacinto was almost at the cafe. I went outside and flagged him down. He came in and talked for a minute, but didn't linger. He had a big climb coming up on his roundabout trip and didn't want his legs to get cold.

The cafe served breakfast all day and I ordered the two egg breakfast, which came with hash browns and bacon. Halfway through my food, I realized I didn't get bacon. I asked the waitress. She said that was a mistake on the menu - it did say bacon, but bacon isn't served with two eggs, only one. Okay . . . . that makes no sense. They should mark the bacon out. Jim had the Philly Cheesesteak sandwich, which he said was great. Genny didn't comment on her chef salad one way or the other.

What we were talking about food wise, was cinnamon rolls. Jim has been telling me for months about the cinnamon rolls they bought the last time they cycled through Sandpoint We would be riding right past the Panhandler Pie Restaurant. He was eloquent about the apple fritter cinnamon rolls.

We had only 15 miles to go after our food stop. My stomach complained a little bit about riding again after a meal. Luckily, it was a flat ride, so I wasn't putting out much effort.

At Sagle we got on a bike path that took us over a long bridge into town. It was wonderful! We don't have that sort of riding in Colorado. There's no large bodies of water (well maybe there is, going into Gunnison has a bridge) but not a personal bicycle bridge and a BIG body of water. We took quite a few photos here. I checked on Jacinto, he was still riding his loop and moving slowly. That must be the climbing.

We stopped for the cinnamon rolls. Jim was quite insistent that he was at the correct restaurant, but the waitresses agreed they did have cinnamon rolls, but not apple fritter. They asked if Jim wanted an elephant ear, which is fry bread with cinnamon and sugar. Nope. Apple cinnamon rolls. While I was in the restroom, Jim decided to buy two cinnamon rolls anyway. When she rang them up, the register did say apple cinnamon rolls. Genny speculated that the restaurant had changed hands, but there was a sign inside saying 30 years with the same owner.

Genny was having trouble with her shifter. Jim said he could fix it, but how about go to the bike shop and see if they could fix it instead. I went straight to the motel and got right in to my room. It was quite interesting - with a long, private hallway before the room. That was perfect for bicycle parking.

I had a text from Jim that they were in the lobby, but not in their room. They had to go back to the shop for Genny's bike before 6 PM and wanted to eat somewhere downtown. I'm too lazy to walk a mile both directions when there's a restaurant with good reviews right next door . . .

Jacinto arrived and was quite put out with me that I didn't have a drink waiting. I didn't know I was in charge of drinks on a regular basis. He always gets the drinks? It's an activity once he gets to town. Of course, maybe part of what made it a fun activity was walking over there with Oren and Oren's not here.

So, Jacinto is drinking my leftover drink and is pouting. He said he got more climbing than he expected on his extra loop. He's had a shower and still isn't so happy. Maybe we need to go to dinner. Pistachios don't seem to be making him any happier.

I had a good ride today. We had one gradual hill that I climbed in the middle chainring. But I can see the future - even though it was an easy hill, I still didn't climb as quickly as Jim and Genny. I did catch up later, but any real climbing day and I'm off the back. Typical.

Tomorrow is 33 flat miles to Bonners Ferry. I don't know how we get so much easy riding with mountains all around us. I've read the Selkirk Loop is very easy, you ride through the valley surrounded by mountains. It's the same thing here. I will probably complain when we use the granny gear.

Later - Jim and Genny weren't able to get in their room when they arrived, but when they did they had quite a room with two air conditioners and two TV's. They had to go back to pick up Genny's bike, so didn't want to eat until 7:30 or so. I was hungry now. Jacinto and I ended up eating at the restaurant next door, which had good reviews. None of the reviews said it was diner food. Which is fine, if that's what you want. It's been awhile since I've had a dinner salad of iceberg lettuce, two cherry tomatoes, and two slices of cucumber. Listen to me with my first world problems.

Jacinto and I walked to the grocery behind the motel. It turned out to be a big organic centered grocery - which I totally didn't expect. It looks like a big box place. They even had four flavors of kombucha on tap. We did not take advantage of the organic offerings. We bought a couple of drinks and some bananas. I bought a milk to go with the famous cinnamon rolls. I had promised myself a donut for my birthday, but never ate one. I decided the cinnamon roll could substitute.

When we got back to the room, I took my cinnamon roll down to the office and asked if they had a microwave. Yes. Back to the room I went with the warm cinnamon roll . . . sorry, Jim, that cinnamon roll isn't even in the top ten. Or the top twenty. We shared half and the other half is drying out on the desk. I have a whole, unopened cinnamon roll waiting. Jacinto is forever telling me my food would taste better if I ride more miles. Maybe that's the problem here . . .

We have an easy 33 miles to Bonners Ferry tomorrow. Even if we leave here when they kick us out of the motel, we will still be early to town. I routed us an extra 11 mile chunk to the east. It's still flat, but will give us an activity. Interest seemed low from text message replies from Jim and Genny. Jacinto is looking at an out and back up to the ski area (who knew Sandpoint had a ski area?). Let's see what the morning brings. We are going back to the restaurant in the morning. I'm sure they will do eggs just fine.

Three of these people are ready to ride. One is not.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This junk yard caught my eye.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We were routed up a pot holed dirt road. We gave it to the first turn and decided not.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Strava told me Jacinto was approaching our restaurant stop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Four touring bicycles outside of The View Cafe.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the fanciest flower bed I've seen. It has a bed skirt, lamps, and even a chair (out of sight).
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was the best part of the day. We had an entire bridge just for bicycles.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was a demanding and non paying photography client. Genny did a good job! Lake Pend Oreille.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had fun taking photos on our own bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I will probably never have another room with this configuration again. We had a long, private hallway to our room. It's a perfect bicycle parking spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo going over the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 76 miles (122 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0