Canyon Hot Springs - Revelstoke, BC - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2019

Canyon Hot Springs - Revelstoke, BC

Heart 0 Comment 0

Jacinto finished his three pound bag of pistachios last night. He's not buying any more. I was surprised when he offered to carry anything extra of mine. ??? I've been doing just fine this trip - my legs are in shape and there haven't been any extreme climbs or distances. We do have four big days coming up. Jacinto said that's why he offered to help carry things. I can't decide if I should be insulted or not. He made this statement in Lake Louise. We were riding together to Golden. I thought his offer was based on wanting to make me lighter/faster and him slower/heavier. I don't have much and I need what I have. I ended up giving him my only bag of clothes (that's important!) and the chargers. After I gave those to him, he told me the offer wasn't for that day, it was for leaving Revelstoke when his pistachios would be gone and we had all of the climbing. Oh. Jacinto is capable of carrying plenty, but his panniers are stuffed full. He has an entire sack of coffee fixings and he also bought that giant bag of oatmeal (what was he thinking? I won't eat that even if I have oatmeal every day for a month). Jacinto's getting a front rack on his new bike. His plan is to carry coffee fixings on one side and food on the other.

The little cafe at the office has soup, sandwiches, and frozen pizza. Plus the ice cream. We went for ice cream last night and they do a brisk ice cream business. This morning I'm having oatmeal and Jacinto had two Hot Pocket type things that he bought in Golden and is still carrying. He has a Bomb Burrito left for emergencies. It was frozen at one point . . . we are going to stop at the Taco Bar as we ride into Revelstoke. It is the only Mexican food place in town. I think we are way too far north for Mexican food. We shall see what we get. Their specialty is vegetarian tacos - yam and zucchini being specially praised. Personally, I like carne asada tacos. Those were not mentioned, but sure they are available?

Today is mostly downhill and only 22 miles. We should be there by lunch. I've already called the motel and asked for an early check in. The nice man said they would clean our room first, so it should be ready by 1 PM.

Later - Today we had a bright blue sky. My rain coat and long fingered gloves are packed away, hopefully for the rest of the trip. It was a pleasure to see the vistas. We had tall mountains with pine and aspen. The road was wide up to mile 12.4, then it reverted to a two lane road with a narrower shoulder. Road surface was cracked and old. Soon we were back to the new and improved surface. It didn't take long to get to town. It was a gradually downhill day.

Genny was focused on a big breakfast when she arrived in Revelstoke. I wanted tacos. Although we ended up riding into town together, we didn't have plans to eat together. But, as we pulled up to the Taco Club, who should be sitting right there but Jim and Genny. They were actually seated in the outdoor seating at the place next door. As much as we wanted tacos, we hadn't talked with them since yesterday - surely there was something new to say. We ended up ordering breakfast also, with the agreement we would go back for tacos tonight. The tacos we saw coming out did look delectable, but not authentic.

Most of the food is in the vibrant downtown area. It reminded me of Glenwood Springs, near home. Most of the lodging is out by the highway. It is 1.6 km/20 minutes according to google to walk back for tacos tonight. There is food close to us . . . but . . . . Jim and Genny would bicycle. Jacinto won't . . . I think bicycling is less effort than walking. Let's see what we do. Jacinto bought fresh fruit from a stand. We've already eaten a basket of raspberries. They tasted as if they came straight from the bushes.

Today was a first for me. I sent laundry out to be washed. $10. for wash only. I said I had wool clothing that couldn't go in the dryer. I literally sent every piece of clothing I had (exception of my rain coat), so Jacinto had to do the talking. In the end they agreed to wash the clothes, have Jacinto come back and pick out the non dryer items, then dry the rest. Jacinto wasn't very good about picking the right items out and wouldn't go back. His nice Ibex wool shirt got put in the dryer. I'm amazed it didn't shrink.

We went to a hamburger place across from the motel. I ordered chicken strips, they were more chicken nugget size. Jacinto's hamburger was good. We bought an ice cream blizzard for dessert and each ended up with an extra when the counter boy came over with mistakes.

Last night at the TV-less hot springs, I introduced Jacinto to Netflix on the computer. That might have been a mistake. Today we have TV, but he preferred a movie on the computer because there weren't any commercials. I never thought I'd see the day he would choose the little screen first.

We are sleeping in tomorrow and going across the street to Denny's for a late breakfast. We have a day off, then four tough days in a row. We are finally getting away from Highway 1.

We've had a similar view the past several days - mountain vistas, and wide roads with new pavement. The new part for today is the blue sky.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bill, I've been on flower overload for days. This is a new one that I only saw a few times today.Edit - Bill says goldenrod - whose name I recognize as being common, but haven't seen previously this trip.Thanks, Bill!
Heart 0 Comment 0
We took RWGPS's routing into town, which included a short piece of dirt road, and brought us in on the wrong side of the train tracks. Trains in Canada are long. Luckily we didn't wait long for this one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The local movie theatre.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can you see the rainbow?
Heart 0 Comment 0
We are at 1,700 feet and there are aspen trees!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was one beautiful view after another today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 537 miles (864 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0