Pfaffenhofen - Munchen: Last day on the road - From Bavaria to the Baltic Sea and Back - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2011

Pfaffenhofen - Munchen: Last day on the road

Are we really cycling back to our front door as we had planned two months ago, I asked myself. It didn't feel real somehow. We had almost always cycled away from home, seldom back. Nothing looked quite the way it did when we set out. It all confirmed my belief that our perception is extremely selective and is influenced by many factors. You are certainly in a different frame of mind at the onset of a journey than at the end. At the beginning you are delighted by new sights and unknown places, at the end you feel joy at recognizing things that are familiar.

My bicycle is in a festive mood for the last day.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was excited to see our familiar landscape unfold, the typical wayside crucifixes, onion dome church steeples, the Bavarian blue sky with puffy white clouds. At one point along the way I contemplated picking up a bottle of champagne to celebrate our homecoming in style. We liked the idea at first, but on second thought, drinking warm champagne from plastic cups on our doorstep wasn't so tempting.

Lovely roads
Heart 2 Comment 0
Farmhouses
Heart 0 Comment 0
Churches
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crucifixes
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bavarian sky
Heart 2 Comment 0

The last kilometers were familiar streets and I was loving it all. And then we rolled into the driveway of our apartment building and were simply home. This night we had a Zimmer at Gibson/Kertesz for 00€. The beds were good and the breakfast was perfect.

We were home in time for my birthday, too. First thing after getting my bags upstairs, I called the dentist and got an appointment for the following day. This turned out to be one of my least pleasant birthdays. The dentist said root canal surgery was necessary and went to work. I was lucky that the bad tooth held out until the end of our trip.

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 2,673 km (1,660 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0