Gluckstadt - Bad Segeberg: We are slowed down - From Bavaria to the Baltic Sea and Back - CycleBlaze

June 12, 2011

Gluckstadt - Bad Segeberg: We are slowed down

Last night I still wasn't feeling well but in the morning I decided I could cycle, hoping I'd find enough bathroom stops along the way. We didn't even know where we would find a place to sleep, so I don't know what made me so confident that I would be able to find toilets. Suffice it to say I made it through the day without mishap. Janos woke up with a mild headache, not a migraine this time, but he wasn't fit as a fiddle, either.

We left Glückstadt on the official bike path - a narrow dirt trail and not my favorite kind of path.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A cool and hazy morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Signs along the way warning drivers to be careful of children at play.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was on a diet of dry bread and Janos was trying to prevent the migraine from returning. We decided "easy does it" would get us through the day best, and so it was. We exerted as little energy as possible pedalling, in other words we were really slow, and fared surprisingly well.

Shortly before we reached Bad Segeberg
Heart 1 Comment 0

We had little luck finding a room in Bad Segeberg and the tourist office was closed. Fortunately, someone pointed out that there was a youth hostel on the edge of town. We again got a double room with our own bathroom - this time a particularly important feature for me - for 53 € including breakfast.

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,173 km (728 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0