Decin - Theresienstadt/Terezin: Enough of this - From Bavaria to the Baltic Sea and Back - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2011

Decin - Theresienstadt/Terezin: Enough of this

My daily journal was never so full of complaining and bitching about almost everything as what I wrote on July 4. The people, the food, the bike paths, our room at the end of the day, our trip, the weather, myself, my dear husband - nothing remained unscathed. I finished up wanting my own cooking, my own bed, my washing machine and my computer. Looking back I can't take it all too seriously and I suppose it's good to let off steam once in a while. We survived and the next day we again went on our merry way.

Looking up to the castle as we leave Decin
Heart 0 Comment 0
View across the river, leaving Decin
Heart 2 Comment 0
New bike path under new bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

It is true, we had to ride in the rain again today and we had a fairly long stretch of loose grave to ride on. And the food, dumplings, meat and gravy, is a little monotonous.

The Elbe
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bridge in Ustí
Heart 2 Comment 0
Deserted factories
Heart 0 Comment 0

One large frustration in the middle of the day was a series of stairs on the bike path. Janos was all for going back to the main road to circumvent them. But I remained stubborn. I didn't want to ride the busy road, not knowing when and if we could return to the bike path along the river. Janos didn't have a chance - I had already carried my panniers up to the top of the stairs before he could convince me of my folly. Of course, Janos had to carry my bike up because it's too heavy for me. When we finally reached the other side, there was a sign asking cyclists to take the road! Well, they might have posted a sign on our end, too.

The STAIRSThe little yellow sign is the bike path sign!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Brod means ford - very nice to warn us.
Heart 1 Comment 0

When we got to Theresienstadt it seemed a good idea to stop and the freshly painted Pension looked good. It was only good on the outside. We took a too a hasty look at the room and said yes, we'll take it. It turned out to be a real dump - diry, damp and uninviting. That's when I wrote my journal entry - I was fed up. But when I look at my pictures now, I realize there were many things that day that I truly enjoyed. Now I know what we would do differently next time - take the road and not the stairs and look at a room more closely before we take it. That would have made all the difference.

Looked like a nice place to stay (picture taken the next morning)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 km (34 miles)
Total: 2,236 km (1,389 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0