Altdobern - Radeburg: Another hot day - From Bavaria to the Baltic Sea and Back - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2011

Altdobern - Radeburg: Another hot day

Again today we enjoyed many good bike paths through pine forests, and as yesterday it was very hot. Our ride also took us over a few hills and through fields of grain. During these six weeks on the road, we had seen the wheat fields turn from bright green to a ripe golden yellow.

I always found these paths through the pine forests soothing.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I quite liked this self-portrait technique and practiced it often.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Somewhere along the way - but where?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Towards the end of the day we lost our track, but continuing in the right general direction and on a few dirt paths we arrived in Radeburg where there were a couple of hotels to choose from. The first hotel we inquired at was full, fortunately I might add, because the hotel next door, Pension Nr. 1, was much cheaper and one of the best hotels for its price on our trip.

Our hotel in Radeburg
Heart 1 Comment 0

That evening I wrote in my journal that I wished to get back to Munich as fast as possible. I still wanted to ride to Dresden, but from there I didn't want to waste any time getting back home. Looking back I see we were pushing it and I probably didn't want to admit to the cumulative fatigue I was feeling. I wasn't taking many pictures, either, although the countryside was lovely. A sure sign that I needed to take a break.

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 2,085 km (1,295 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0