Return to Belfast - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

Return to Belfast

Beginning the Northern Tire

I think today was the first time I’ve backtracked on a bike tour. With the exception of a few miles along the coast road on Mount Desert Island, the route was exactly the same as two days ago.

I waited for the early morning fog to lift. It did, but I eventually ran into more on the road. I have a red blinkie light on my helmet so no worries.

Today's ride featured a tailwind, making the ride a literal breeze. The weather apps called for a rainy day, but for 20 minutes of sprinkles, the day was dry.

The rest in Bar Harbor did me good. I covered 54 miles by 2 pm. No problem. I stopped for breakfast after 15 miles and a snack after 35.

I had hoped to get lunch in Searsport but the cafe was closed. So I opted for ice cream but the ice cream shop was closed. I suspect a conspiracy.

US 1 becomes Main Street in Searsport. It’s insane. The crosswalks advise pedestrians to wave. Personally I think a single digit salute is preferable.

They forgot to add “Kiss your ass goodbye”
Heart 0 Comment 0
Her name is Mary Anne
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 1,197 miles (1,926 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0