Packing List - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

Packing List

This packing list is mostly the same as last year but there are a few changes. 

My sleeping bag is new and much heavier than the sleep sack that I froze in last summer in the high mountains of Wyoming. My new sleeping pad is much more compact and infinitely more comfortable than the one I used last year. The air valve on the old one stopped working so a new pad was in order. I am also bringing a little inflator gizmo that only weights a few ounces.

I am only bringing flat bungie cords this time. My touring friend Corey convinced me of their general usefulness in Canon City, CO last summer. I am not bringing a cargo net as I have in the past.

In a concession to my spinal stenosis, I am bringing a collapsible cane that I bought at REI recently.

 I am bringing a Brinks cable lock that I bought in Fort Scott, Kansas last summer. A U-lock is much more secure but it’s a bit useless with bike bags in the way. With the cable lock, I can lock my bike to a picnic table in camp which has the added benefit of keeping the bike from falling over.

Unlike touring out west, food and water are readily available in the east. I still needed to bring extra water on the C&O Canal which does not have potable water this year. Also, I packed some emergency food just in case. This included a jar of peanut butter and jelly (pre-mixed), some Clif bars, a couple of packages of tuna, and assorted fruit items.

I managed to break the power pack I bought for last year’s tour. It had a charging connection that was flimsy. It broke off. I’m glad it didn’t happen during the tour. The new power pack uses a cable to connect to a power source.

On Bike

  • Large Ortlieb roll top panniers (2)
  • Small Ortlieb roll top panniers (2)
  • Medium Ortlieb handlebar bag with map case
  • Helmet with light mount
  • Bell
  • Mirror
  • Saddle cover
  • Adventure Cycling Association maps
  • Water bottles (2)

Electronics

  • Iphone
  • Headphones
  • Power pack
  • Light and Motion headlight
  • Taillight
  • Chargers/cables for all lights, camera and phone

Clothing

  • Sandals
  • Rain jacket
  • Rain pants
  • Shirts (2 synthetic, 2 cotton) 
  • Bike shorts (2) and shell
  • Bike gloves
  • Cool weather gloves
  • Off bike shorts and belt
  • Floppy hat
  • Sunsleeves
  • Swim trunks
  • Bike shoes
  • Buff
  • Bandana
  • Socks (3 pairs)

Personal Items

  • Dr Bronners soap
  • Microfiber bath towel
  • Microfiber washcloth
  • Toothpaste
  • Floss
  • Comb
  • Tooth brush
  • Razor
  • Shaving cream
  • Bug spray
  • Sunscreen
  • Prescription sunglasses
  • Backup prescription glasses
  • Magazine
  • N95 mask

Miscellaneous

  • Duct tape
  • Zip ties (4)
  • Flat bungies (4)
  • Clothes pins (4)
  • Chain break
  • Spare link
  • Wire for holding chain (I forgot this.)
  • Multitool
  • Fiber Fix spoke
  • Spare tubes (3)
  • Patch kit
  • Tire levers (3)
  • Pump
  • $1 bill for tire boot
  • Spare tire
  • Lube (2 kinds, wax based for the chain. Oil based for everything else)
  • Chain cleaner
  • Rag
  • Spare brake cable
  • Spare shifter cable
  • Lock

Camping Gear

  • Tent
  • Stakes
  • Ground cloth
  • Sleeping bag
  • Camp pillow
  • Sleeping pad
  • Fan inflator for pad
  • Inflation bag for pad
  • Spare AAA batteries for pad inflator (2) (I forgot this. I ended up using the inflation bag on my last camping night. It worked well.)
  • Dry bag
  • Rope
  • Swiss army knife

Medical

  • Brio
  • Latanoprost
  • Ibuprofen
  • Ibuprofen PM
  • Albuterol
  • Antihistamines
  • 81 mg aspirin
  • Collapsible cane

Food

  • Clif Bars
  • Electrolyte tablets
  • PB&J
  • Some kind of flat bread (for PB&J) 
  • Spare water
  • Lightweight utensils
  • Apples and bananas
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0