Modified Plan to Belfast - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

June 10, 2023

Modified Plan to Belfast

Camden to Belfast

My Warmshowers hosts, Peter and Christie, were terrific. Christie even found me a motel near Bar Harbor that was reasonably priced. I’ll have to bike a few miles into town but I’d have had to bike farther to town if I had camped instead.

When I woke up my hosts were nowhere to be found. Thinking they might be sleeping in, I slipped out quietly and went downtown to get breakfast. (I found out later that they had gone for a walk, Peter’s back pain having calmed down.)

Breakfast: 2 eggs, sausage, home fries, rye toast, and coffee.

After breakfast the climbing began. Whenever I leave the coastline I have steep-ish climbs. I think I was eventually up around 500 feet. Once at elevation I found myself doing rolling roads. It was cool and overcast; same weather, different day.

There was no rush. Today is a short day, setting up two days in the Bar Harbor area.

Since Belfast is on the coast, my ride into town was downhill.

I am glad I modified my schedule. Doing today’s ride and yesterday’s ride in one day would have been brutal.

The road from Camden went through this gash in a mountain. Gashes are good.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once in Belfast I bought lunch. Burger, fries, cole slaw, a cup of clam chowder, and iced tea. Decent but pricey.

Bike/Ped bridge over the Passagassawakeag (I am not making this up) Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
The news from Belfast, Maine
Heart 0 Comment 0

My Warmshowers host, Meg, is a doctor. She looks vaguely like and has similar mannerisms to my ophthalmologist back home. They could be siblings.

While she tended the garden, I started feeling drowsy. I took a two hour nap during which a thunderstorm passed through. I’m glad I was off the road.

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 1,053 miles (1,695 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0