Into New Jersey - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2023

Into New Jersey

Warrington, Pennsylvania to Phillipsburg, New Jersey

Alan and Sheryl were terrific Warmshowers hosts. I was well fed and slept soundly. Alan told me the route ahead featured one big hill then lots a flat to gently rolling roads, mostly along the Delaware River.

The hill came very early on and was definitely granny-worthy. There were a couple of other shorter climbs after that but I handled them nicely.

On one climb, a walker came by and told me there was a baby fawn just beyond a tree line ahead. I never would have spotted it. It looked like a patch of soil. I didn’t take a picture so as not to disturb it but it was super cute.

The climb took me away from the Schuylkill River valley. It was followed by a descent to the Delaware River at New Hope.

The short bridge has a steel grate deck so I walked The Mule across on the sidewalk. Now in Lambertville, NJ I stopped for second breakfast, coffee and an everything bagel. I booked a hotel room in Phillipsburg 35 miles away.

The rest of the ride was on a two-lane highway going north along the Delaware. For most of the ride I could have used a parallel towpath but the road was smooth, traffic was light, and the weather perfect.

In Milford I stopped for lunch at a pizza place. Delish.

One surprise has been how inexpensive food is, as long as I stay clear of the touristy places.

The Mule crosses the Delaware.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rhododendrons grow like weeds around here
Heart 0 Comment 0

After Milford the road along the river became narrower. There were 4 granny hills to contend with. But today is different. With my cold almost gone and my tummy full of fuel the long uphill grinds were manageable.

The hotel in Phillipsburg is your basic cheap eyesore that shows signs of disrepair and is under renovation. The room seems fine though but the breakfast the website said was included is not offered. Given the fact that it probably would have been inedible, I’m not too upset. Also there is an IHOP next door so I don’t have to search for early morning grub.

Temperatures were actually warm at the end of the riding day indicating that my weather luck may be running out.

Tomorrow I ride to the Delaware Water Gap and deal with a rather nasty mountain detour and uncertainty about where I’ll stay.

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 301 miles (484 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0