A New State - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2023

A New State

Westborough, Massachusetts to Derry, New Hampshire

Noon in Ayer, Massachusetts

I’ve entered the realm of dropped “r”s and Irish faces. Uncharacteristically most Massachusetts drivers are treating me with good care. The roads look bad but I’m having no trouble riding.

I lined up a Warmshowers host for tonight in Derry, 60-ish miles away. The weather forecast called for rain until noon. With each passing hour the forecasted end of the rain moves further into the afternoon.

Rather than wait the rain out, I left the hotel at 8:30 wearing all the things. Temps were in the 50s and a light rain and light headwind added to the sheer New England climactic bliss.

The terrain has been forgiving. Either that or The Mule and I are getting lighter. My face is becoming gaunt as it usually does later in a tour. What hills there are easily climbed. My breakfast consisted of two cups of weak coffee, two packets of instant oatmeal, and three mini muffins. I apparently get about 8 miles to the muffin.

My Warmshowers host told me last night that he wouldn’t be home until 11 p.m. He texted a few minutes ago saying he’d be home by 7. I wasn’t looking forward to hanging out in his garage for hours so this is a welcome development.

5 p.m. in Derry, New Hampshire

After lunch the sun came out! For ten minutes. Sad face. At least the rain was mostly over.

After a five mile ride on a paved rail trail, the terrain became a little hillier. No worries. I am feeling exceptionally strong today except when I get off the bike. Then I feel woozy. I really need to eat and drink more but my mind is focused on the map which has a gazillion turns, many of them unmarked. I went off route several times today. I even missed the turn off the rail trail, more from zoning out than anything else.

View from the Nashua River Rail Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

A few miles before the finish a hawk swooped down and snatched a squirrel off the road ahead of me. Marlin Perkins phone home. The circle of life is savage!

Bagged my 39th State!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m at the town bar, Hare of the Dawg. Everyone knows everyone else. It’s a bit intimidating but the food is pretty good. My Warmshowers host lives right off the route so there will be no problem finding him.

Bathroom sign at Hare of the Dawg
Heart 0 Comment 0

New Hampshire is the 37th state I’ve ridden in.

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 750 miles (1,207 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0